Skip to main content

Research Guides

Collection Guidelines: Music: Related Non-UW Collections

Resource Sharing

a. Related local and regional collections:

The Seattle Public Library (SPL) and has CDs, DVDs, as well subscriptions to online audio collections such as Freegal, Hoopla, and Overdrive. The collection is centered on contemporary popular music and bands. The King County Library System (KCLS) also has CDs, DVDs in a variety of genres including jazz, blues, various classical music genres (orchestral, choral, opera, etc.), and world music.  And it also has a subscription to Overdrive, where you can download mostly popular music.  In addition, SPL has some classical music scores as well as books on music.   

Major regional academic music collections include those at the Univeristy of Oregon, and the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, B.C.  Smaller music collections include those at Western Washington University and Reed College.


b. Cooperative loan arrangements:

The music collection at the The Center for Research Libraries consists of mostly microfilm sets of historical printed and manuscript music scores. The Center also provides access to foreign dissertations, newspapers, retrospective serials, and other research materials. The UW is a member of the Orbis-Cascade Alliance. UW faculty, staff and students may request materials from other Orbis-Cascade Alliance members through the UW Catalog..


c. Cooperative acquisition projects:

The University of Washington makes recommendations to the The Center for Research Libraries for the purchase of materials. Informal cooperative collection development with other Orbis-Cascade libraries is practiced on a minor level.  The Orbis-Cascade e-book project allows UW patrons to view/acquire electronic books that are accessible to and jointly-owned by all 37 member libraries.