Searchable list of music in the public domain as well as information about intellectual property with respect to musical works. There are many more sites you might want to explore using public domain music as your search term.
Online audio collections from the Library of Congress' American Memory project. From Thomas Alva Edison's first cylinder recordings to oral histories about September 11, 2001, these recordings document the American experience.
Streaming audio server that hosts over 10,000 recordings from the collections of more than 20 independent classical music labels. These recordings range from operas to symphonies to chamber music as well as many contemporary composers
DRAM contains 3,000 albums from 26 independent labels, representing folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic, art, jazz and world musics.
The Arhoolie Foundation's Strachwitz Frontera Collection of commercially produced Mexican and Mexican-American recordings (the Frontera Collection) is the largest repository of Mexican and Mexican-American vernacular recordings in existence.
Contains over a hundred thousand free digital recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by our users. Many of these files are available for free download.
A community committed to providing the highest quality live concerts in a lossless, downloadable format. Preserves and archives as many live concerts as possible for current and future generations to enjoy. "All music is from trade-friendly artists and is strictly non-commercial, both for access here and for any further distribution."
This is a list of 10 online resources for free legal music. The resources connect to a range of indie, alternative, up and coming artists, and eclectic styles. Each site provides access to free mp3 downloads, with artist bios and reviews.
Naxos Music Library Jazz is a comprehensive collection of Jazz music available online. It offers close to 20,000 tracks of jazz from over 1,850 albums. Over 500 jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. Naxos Jazz, along with Prophone and Proprius
DJ Wilgus established Folklore studies at UCLA w/ Wayland Hand. Together founded the Folklore and Mythology Program in 1965, and along the way had their students make a lot folkloric type field recordings. Listen to a sample of them here.