Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; citation management software info.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Tools for archiving and publishing the products of your research, including data sets, monographs, images, articles, and reports.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info on your rights as an author and open-access publishing alternatives.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
People & Programs
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Info for users with disabilities about navigating the Libraries and its services.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Click to chat now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
Think tanks & NGO's
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
Security studies: Articles
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
Indexes journal articles, books, and selected government documents in the areas of public affairs, policy, and politics.
Military & Government Collection
Scholarly and general interest periodicals covering all branches of the military, as well as government affairs.
Homeland Security Digital Library
Documents from a wide range of sources related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management.
Worldwide topical coverage in history (other than the U.S. and Canada), 1450 to the present.
America: History & Life with Full Text
History of the United States and Canada.
Armed Forces and Society
Focuses on military institutions, civil-military relations, arms control and peacemaking, and conflict management.
Arms Control Today
Topics in the field of international arms control and disarmament.
Analysis and debate of foreign policy, economics, and global affairs.
Global Change, Peace, and Security
Focuses on the international dimension of political, economic and cultural life.
Homeland Security Affairs
From the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security, articles on new strategies, policies, concepts and data relating to every aspect of Homeland Security.
Britain's leading journal of international relations, European policy debates and global policy issues.
International Journal of Intelligence and Counterintelligence
Address issues and challenges contemporary intelligence-related decisions and policy and a broad range of national security matters.
Covers the entire field of international affairs including foreign policies, security policies, alliance patterns and war, bargaining and conflict resolution, and more.
Contemporary security issues, including war and peace, environmental, demographic, and humanitarian issues, the rise of global terrorist networks, and more.
Journal of Strategic Studies
Contemporary security and theoretical controversies, historical and theoretical approaches to the study of modern warfare, defence policy, and modern strategy.
From the Institute for National Strategic Studies at the National Defense University.
Survival: Global Politics and Strategy
From the International Institute for Strategic Studies, analysis and debate of international and strategic affairs.
Theoretical, historical, and policy-oriented articles on the causes and consequences of war, and the sources and conditions of peace.
Smart discussions on national security and defense issues, defense wonk obsessions, and explainers on international crises.
War on the Rocks
Discussions with soldiers, spies, officials, and scholars on strategy, defense, and foreign affairs.
From Vox Media, discussions highlighting current issues in international affairs.
Weekly roundtable discussions on news, ideas, foreign policy, and law.
The CSIS Podcast
From the Center for Strategic and International Studies; dissects the big stories of the week in U.S. foreign policy and international affairs.
Field reporting and expert analysis on international news stories.
A weekly look at the weapons systems and tactics that both endanger the world and keep it safe.
Modern War Institute podcasts
From West Point, tactical, operational, and strategic trends, and interviews about combat experiences.
War Room Warcasts
U.S. Army War College podcast about challenging national security and defense issues.
The Strategy Bridge
Strategy, national security, and strategic history.
Primary sources >>
May 19, 2018 7:14 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.