Collection Guidelines: Anthropology and Archaeology: Scope & Location

• Suzzallo and Allen Libraries are the major locations for the anthopology collection in print.
• Introductory and lower-level undergraduate materials may be found in Odegaard Library, Bothell and Tacoma libraries. 
• Electronic resources such as databases may be found on the Anthropology Research Guide. 
• Specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and bibliographies may be located in the Reference Section in Suzzallo Library.
• Documentaries are in the Media Center (Suzzallo Library, 3rd floor).

a. Chronological

Prehistoric through contemporary periods are covered.

b. Geographical

Primary collecting emphasis is on North America (including Canada, Central America, Mexico and the United States), Africa, China, Melanesia and Micronesia, the Near East, Oceania, South and Southeast Asia and the Soviet Union. Lesser emphasis is given to other areas of the world — Western Europe, Scandinavia, and South America — although basic works are collected which cover the entire geographic range of human culture.

c. Language

Primary collecting emphasis is on English and English language translations. Materials in French and Spanish are acquired selectively. Works in the vernacular languages of other areas such as South and Southeast Asia, China, the Near East are included in the collection through the efforts of the area studies selectors.

d. Format

Books, e-books, e-serials, audio, video, microforms, and research databases are included in the collection

e. Exclusions

Materials of a purely popular nature, workbooks, and photographic essays are generally not collected. Textbooks may be purchased on a selective basis.