Skip to main content

Research Guides

ProQuest RefWorks: Creating a Bibliography

RefWorks is a web-based citation management program paid for by the UW Libraries. Use RefWorks to organize your research, create bibliographies, insert citations as you write, and import and search PDFs.

Create a Simple Reference List

In RefWorks you can create a bibliography from a list of references, without creating a document. This reference list may contain your entire database (the references in your All Documents area), or you can select a specific folder from which to create the bibliography.

In the Create Bibliography section in RefWorks you can generate a reference list in your desired style, using all the references in the desired folder.  You can also choose particular references from within the folder. This can be used to preview your finished list of references, or simply generate a list to copy and paste into your document.

Note:  RefWorks will store the last 10 output styles you have used to generate a reference list or bibliography at the top of the output-style drop-down for easy access.

To create a bibliography from a specific folder or the entire database:

  1. Click the Bibliography menu icon () and select Create. This can be done from your All Documents section, or from an individual folder.

  2. A fully formatted bibliography will appear.

  3. Adjust Output Style to fit your needs.

  4. Either copy paste your works cited page or click Copy to Clipboard.

Note:  When generating a Reference List from the Bibliography area, the final output is sorted based on the output style you have chosen.  If the output style is based on the order cited in a document, since there is no document, it defaults to alphabetical by first author.

 

 

 

Get Help

Other Paper Writing Tips

Creating a Bibliography Instantly in RefWorks