Skip to main content

Research Guides

Collection Guidelines: Comparative Literature and Cinema & Media Studies: UW Libraries Locations

These are the guidelines by which materials are purchased for the Comparative Literature and Cinema & Media Studies collections of the UW Libraries (Seattle Campus).

Location of Materials

  • Suzzallo Allen Library are the major locations for the Comparative Literature and Cinema Studies collections in print.
  • Most of the folklore collections are also in Suzzallo Allen Library.
  • Electronic resources may be found on the Comparative Literature and Cinema & Media Studies Research Guide and through the Libraries Online Catalog.
  • Several large microform collections which support literary research are housed in the Microforms-Newspapers Section.  Some of these major literary collections have been superceded by online collections, and the microform holdings placed in remote storage.
  • There are some duplicate and related titles in the Odegaard Undergraduate Library, Drama Library, Bothell and Tacoma libraries.
  • Specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, concordances, and bibliographies may be located in the Reference Section in the Suzzallo Allen Library and in Odegaard Undergraduate Library.
  • Audio visual materials are in the Media Center (Suzzallo Library, 3rd floor). Many visual materials can also be found in various online collections.
  • The Art Library holds some materials relating to art and literature and to photography and literature.
  • The Music Library has material relating specifically to music in the cinema.