Skip to main content

Research Guides

Collection Guidelines: Children's Literature: UW, Local & Regional Collections

Guidelines by which materials are purchased for the Children's Literature collection of the UW Libraries (Seattle Campus).

UW Libraries Locations

Children's Literature collections:

Suzzallo and Allen Libraries hold the major print children's literature collections on the Seattle campus. Recent children's materials in Chinese, Japanese, and Korean are housed at the East Asia Library. Rare books and unique collections such as the Historical Children's Literature Collection, Book Arts Collection19th Century American Literature collection may be found in Special Collections. Electronic resources (books, journals, and databases) may be found on the Children's Literature Research Guide. Specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and bibliographies may be located in the Reference Section in Suzzallo Library. Available electronic reference tools are listed on the Children's Literature Research Guide.

UW Bothell and UW Tacoma:

The UW Bothell and UW Tacoma libraries maintain separate Children's Literature collections.

Collaborative Collection Management

As members of the Western Regional Storage Trust (WEST) and the Greater Western Library Alliance (GWLA), the UW Libraries collaborates with other research libraries to ensure long-term access to microform and print serials whether or not a digital surrogate exists. Shared responsibility for maintaining retrospective print holdings enables the Libraries to better manage its own collections space.

Other Library Collections

The University of Washington Libraries is a member of the Orbis Cascade Alliance, a consortium of academic institutions in Oregon, Washington, and Idaho. Materials can be borrowed across the consortium. Collaboration among members of this regional consortium expands the print resources available to UW students, faculty and staff through Summit, the Alliance joint catalog. Several Orbis Cascade libraries have significant children's literature collections which supplement the holdings of the UW Libraries and can be requested via Summit.

Local public libraries include the Seattle Public Library and the King County Library System, which both have extremely strong collections of contemporary children's materials, including children's magazines, children's media, and other materials not systematically collected at UW.

Cooperative Acquisitions

The Libraries actively participates in regional and national cooperative collection development efforts which enhance the range of resources available to UW students, faculty, and staff while conserving precious funds for local acquisitions.   These include:

Center for Research Libraries (CRL).  This organization acquires research material in print, microform, and electronic formats on behalf of its members, including foreign dissertations, newspaper archives, and other important but infrequently used resources.  In addition, the UW Libraries participates in several initiatives of CRL's Global Resources Program  that focus on international scholarly resources, such as news, government publications, and  technical reports.  Two other CRL programs offer UW scholars access to resources that are not owned by the UW Libraries or by CRL.  Requests should meet a specific research or teaching need and total no more than $2,000 annually.

  • Demand Purchase Program.  For purchase of foreign dissertations, newspaper issues, and published archives.  Requests are forwarded from the Libraries' Interlibrary Loan office.
  • Scholar's Access Program.  For limited-term access to a database, newspaper, or other electronic resource.  Requests should be made through your subject librarian