Skip to main content

Research Guides

C LIT 596A / ENG 544 / GWSS 590: Hispanic Women Writers and Directors: Background Information

This course will map the contours of feminist narrative discourse in the Spanish-speaking world over the past half century through literary works and films.

Welcome to Your Research Guide

This class guide provides links to scholarly literary, film, social and cultural databases that may be useful in the research required for this course.  

See the Citation Styles Guide and other tools for help managing your citations.

Find Background Information on Literature

A general background in the social and cultural history will help to you contextualize and analyze the literature assigned for this class.

Cambridge History of Latin American Literature Published in 1996, this reference work is available online and in print.  Second Floor, Suzzallo Allen Stacks PQ7081 A1 C35 1996.

Diccionario Crítico de la Literatura Mexicana, 1955-2005. Print source. Second Floor Suzzallo Stacks, PQ7106 D65 2007; The English language print edition also updates the original work: Critical Dictionary of Mexican Literature: (1955-2010). Second Foor Suzzallo Stacks, PQ7155 D66513 2012..

Dicionário Crítico de Escritoras Brasileiras: 1711 - 2001.  In print. Comprehensive author entries, mostly brief except for major figures. First Floor, Suzzallo Allen Reference, PQ9533 C54 2002.

Dictionary of Mexican Literature. This print source brings together authors and topics into a single alphabetical order; includes extensive bibliographies for each entry. Note publication date, 1992. First Floor, Suzzallo Allen Reference,PQ7106 D53 1992

Enciclopédia de Literatura Brasileira This two volume  print work provides comprehensive coverage of authors, literary movements (including a nine page essay on criticism), and individaul works, all in very small typeface.  First Floor, Suzzallo Allen Reference, PQ9506 E53 2001.

Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003. Print source, mostly short succinct entries under authors' names (Isabel Allende gets about a page) and topics ("Women's Writing" merits a page and a half), but use the index, too, for guidance to specific subjects, such as "Feminism" which has no separate entry but is embedded in more than a dozen country and personal name entries.  First Floor, Suzzallo Allen Reference, PQ7081 A1 E558 2004.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture Revised in 2008, this print source contains over 5,700 entries. Good for basic, concise background information. Link to eBook or find the 6 volumes in print, First Floor, Suzzallo Allen Reference, F1406 E53 2008.

Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature. Two volumes, in print, First Floor, Suzzallo Allen Reference PQ6055 F46 2002.

 Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature. Three volume set, available online and in print at UW Bothell Library Reference, PS153 H56 G74 2008.

Hispanic Literature Criticism Classic work in two volumes, with an emphasis on major writers.  The Poniatowska entry is eleven pages long.  Includes "sources for further study" with every entry.  First Floor, Suzzallo Allen Reference,PQ7081 A1 H573 1994.

Latin American Women Writers; an Encyclopedia Published in 2008, this work includes at least some of the writers being studied in this class.  The entries can be extensive, and are accompanied by helpful bibliographies. First Floor, Suzzallo Allen Reference, PQ7081.3 L37 2008

Latin American Literature and Its Times One of the print series World Literature and Its Times, this volume is organized alphabetically by title of the work and provides political, social and cultural information contemporary to the time the work was written. First Floor, Suzzallo Allen Reference, PQ7081 M625 1999.

Spanish and Portuguese Literatures and Their Times: the Iberian Peninsula One of the print series World Literature and Its Times, this volume is organized alphabetically by title of the work and provides political, social and cultural information contemporary to the time the work was written. First Floor, Suzzallo Allen Reference, PQ6041 M67 2002.

Find Background Information on Films

Almost no encyclopedias or biographical dictionaries are available which cover the filmmakers under class discussion. Older reference titles are of some help in understanding the historical context in which these filmmakers work.  See this guide's section on Books for more recent monographs on women filmmakers in Spain and Latin America.

Dictionary of Film Terms: the Aesthetic Companion to Film Analysis. Print volume covers both aesthetic values and techniques. First Floor Suzzallo Reference, PN1993.45 B33 1994. (Also in Odegaard Reference)

Mex-Ciné: Mexican Filmmaking, Production, and Consuption in the Twenty-First Century. 2013 Online publication.

Women Filmmakers in Mexico: the Country of Which We Dream. Online and  in print, this resource discusses government film policies, the women's movement and other influences on women's filmmaking.  Because of its publication date (2001), it will be primarily useful for background information. Print edition is on Second Floor, Suzzallo Stacks, PN1993.5 M4 R33 2001.