Skip to main content

Research Guides

About this Guide

 

 

These are the guidelines by which materials are purchased for South Asian Studies  collections of the UW Libraries (Seattle Campus).  For questions or more information, please contact South Asian  Studies Librarian Deepa Banerjee.
Email - dbaner@uw.edu
Phone 206-685-1433

UW Libraries: Collection Goals

The UW Libraries is committed to providing convenient and timely access to collections and information resources that are outstanding with respect to their quality, depth, diversity, format and currency to support the research and teaching missions of the University of Washington.

Subject Definition

South Asian Studies is an interdisciplinary area program involving the study of India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal and Bhutan. Emphasis is in the fields of Anthropology, Architecture, Art History, Economics, Hstory, Political Science, Philosophy, languages, Literature, Linguistics, Religion, Sociology and Cinema Studies. The South Asian Studies collection's primary goal is to support scholarship for South Asian Studies program, The South Asian Studies program is one of the 13 academic programs offered by Jackson School of Internatioanal Studies.

  The collection will be useful to those researching and studying in the Humanities and Social Sciences. The South Asian Studies subject guide  will help you to begin using the materials (archives, books, electronic databases, journals, magazines, and newspapers) in the UW Libraries Communication collection.

Subject Classification

Library of Congress Classification (LC):

Materials for South Asian Studies are catalogued throughout the Library of Coongress Classification schedules but concentrate in the following:

  • A- general works.
  • B- philosophy,religion
  • D- history
  • G - anthropology
  • H- Social Science
  • J-political Science
  • M- Music
  • N- fine arts
  • P- language and literature

 

Dewey Decimal Classification:

Very few South Asian Stduies materials have Dewey Decimal Classification numbers. 

The primary classification numbers are:

  • 181- philosophy
  • 249- religion
  • 300-399- social sciences
  • 491- languages
  • 570-573-anthropology
  • 891- literature