Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; citation management software info.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Tools for archiving and publishing the products of your research, including data sets, monographs, images, articles, and reports.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info on your rights as an author and open-access publishing alternatives.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
People & Programs
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Info for users with disabilities about navigating the Libraries and its services.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Click to chat now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
Citation Styles (MLA, APA, etc.)
Citation Style for Asian Language Sources
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
Japan 435 - Natsume Soseki and Japanese Modernity
Citation Styles (MLA, APA, etc.)
Japan 435 - Natsume Soseki and Japanese Modernity: Citation Styles (MLA, APA, etc.)
Print Style Manuals
The ACS Style Guide (3rd ed.)
Call Number: QD8.5 .A25 2006
Publication Date: 2006
AMA Manual of Style (10th ed.)
Call Number: WZ345 .A511 2007 or R119 .A533 2007
Publication Date: 2007
ASA (American Sociological Association) Style Guide
Call Number: HM569 .A54 2014
The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation (19th ed.)
Call Number: KF245 .U55
Publication Date: 2010
Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual (8th ed.)
Call Number: T11 .S386 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Other Citation Styles used at UW
Online access to
The ACS Style Guide
, from the American Chemical Society.
Online access to American Medical Association's
AMA Manual of Style
, the most commonly used style in medical journals.
Not a citation guide, but a writing guide for journalists from the Associated Press. Provides "guidelines for spelling, language, punctuation, usage and journalistic style."
Quick tips on using the official style of the American Sociological Association.
UW Law Library's guide to using Bluebook, the dominant legal citation style.
Quick guide from
Scientific Style and Formatting
(8th ed.), the official manual of the Council of Science Editors used by many science journals, and the three systems of citation used in CSE journals.
Guide from Anglia Ruskin University (license
CC BY-NC-ND 3.0
). The Harvard system is an
author-date citation system
used by many British and Commonwealth universities, and also by UW's Geography Department. Try out the
Ultimate Guide to Harvard Referencing
, a Harvard-style citation generator
The 2014 editorial style manual of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), a style commonly used in technical fields like computer science.
Linguistics Style Sheet
The Linguistics Society of America's Unified Style Sheet for Linguistics Journals (2003). See also the specific
used in that journal.
MHRA style guide
Quick guide to the Modern Humanities Research Association format used by British humanities journals.
Citation Style for Asian Language Sources >>
May 10, 2018 12:03 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.