Skip to main content

Research Guides

Collection Guidelines: Built Environments: Subject Info

This guide provides an outline describing library collection development for the Built Environments Library.

About this Guide

This guide describes the collection parameters used by the Built Environments Librarian to support classes in the CBE's four disciplines. For more information, please contact alanmich@u.washington.edu

UW Libraries: Collection Goals

The UW Libraries is committed to providing convenient and timely access to collections and information resources that are outstanding with respect to their quality, depth, diversity, format and currency to support the research and teaching missions of the University of Washington.

Subject Classification Numbers: LA

These are the main clusters for books in LA.

QH Natural History: Biology
QK Botany
SB71-87 History
SB109.7-111 Methods for Special Areas
SB450.9-467.8 Gardens and Gardening
SB469-486 LA and Parks

Subject Classification Numbers: CM

Major clusters of books fall in these Library of Congress sections:

TA Civil Engineering
TD Environmental Technology
TH Building Construction
TJ Mechanical Engineering
TK Electrical Engineering
K Construction laws

Subject Definition

The College of Built Environments joins together studies in the building and design professions. It seeks to engender cross-departmental interaction and enrichment and provide a more holistic approach for design of the built environment. Architecture, landscape architecture and urban design and planning have both conventional lecture courses and more free-form, interactive studios, Students in studios generate singly or in teams create solutions to particular design problems defined by the instructor. Lecture courses in these fields have strong historical components as well as writing requirements. Construction management offers lecture courses in construction practice, law, estimating, equipment management, surveying, sustainable design and construction, building codes and environmental regulations and project management. It also operates the Pacific Northwest Center for Construction Research and Education, a lab space that provides hands-on learning for students in CM classes. All of the departments offer courses and degrees for undergraduate and graduate students.

The Built Environments Library’s primary role is to support the College of Built Environments (CBE), its curriculum, faculty and students.  In order to fulfill this mandate, the Built Environments Library (BEL) actively purchases materials in various media, including books, ebooks, online journals, DVDs, and maintains a legacy collection composed of microfilms, microfiche, CDs, cassettes, film strips and VHS tapes. Focused on student needs in the CBE but open to all undergraduates and graduates, the BEL strives to uphold the University of Washington’s credo of “enriching the quality of life and advancing intellectual discovery by connecting people with knowledge.”

Subject Classification Numbers: Architecture

Here are some major Library of Congress call number concentrations in Architecture:

K1-KF5700 Construction Law and Building Codes
NA 1-9428 Architecture
NA1-60 Architecture: General Studies
NA190-1555.5 Architectural History
NA1995 Architecture as a Profession
NA 2599.5-2599.9 Architectural Criticism
NA2695-2793 Architectural Drawing and Design
NA4100-8480 Special Classes of Buildings
NA9000-9428 Aesthetics of Cities
NK1-9955 Decorative Arts

Dewey classification numbers fall in the 300s (Social Sciences), 624 (Civil Engineering), 690-691 Building Materials. 707-712 (the Arts) and 720-738 (Architecture).

Subject Classification Numbers: UrDP

Students in UrDP cosult a very wide variety of subjects, including urban planning documents and research in sociology, psychology, political science, environmental studies, sustainability, public health, and subject that affect urban governance.

            GE1-350 - Environmental Policy/Environmental Sciences - at ASL

            HD101-1395 - Land use

            HE 305-311 - Urban transportation

            HE 331-380 - Transportation engineering

            HE5601-5725 - Automotive transportation

            HT51-1595 Communities. Classes. Races

            HT51-65 Human settlements. Communities     

            HT101-395 Urban groups. The city. Urban sociology

            HT161-165 Garden cities. "The city beautiful"

            HT165.5-169.9 City planning   

            HT170-178 Urban renewal. Urban redevelopment

            HT201-221 City population - Including children in cities, immigration

            HT231 Effect of city life

            HT251-265 Mental and moral life

            HT281 Recreation. Amusements

            HT321-325 The city as an economic factor. City promotion

            HT330-334 Metropolitan areas

            HT351-352 Suburban cities and towns

            HT361-384 Urbanization. City and country

            HT388 Regional economics. Space in economics

            HT 390-395 Regional Planning

            JK1-9993 Public institutions and public administration - US

            KF 3581-3598 - Environmental law

            NA1-9428 Architecture

            NA1-60 General architecture

            NA100-130 Architecture and the state

            NA190-1555.5 History

            NA1995 - Architecture as a profession  

            NA2000-2320 Study and teaching. Research

            NA2335-2360 Competitions

            NA2400-2460 Museums. Exhibitions

            NA2500-2599   General works

            NA 2599.5-2599.9 Architectural criticism

            NA2695-2793 Architectural drawing and design

            NA2835-4050 Details and decoration

            NA4100-8480 Special classes of buildings

            NA4100-4145   Classed by material

            NA4150-4160   Classed by form

            NA4170-8480 Classed by use

            NA4170-(7020) Public buildings

            NA4590-5621 Religious architecture

            NA7100-7884 Domestic architecture. Houses. Dwellings

            NA7910-8125 Clubhouses, guild houses, etc.

            NA8200-8260 Farm architecture

            NA8300-8480 Outbuildings, gates, fences, etc.

            NA9000-9428 Aesthetics of cities. City planning and beautifying

            TA170-171 Environmental engineering - ASL

            TA1001-1280 - - Transportation engineering - ASL

            TD1-1-66 - Environmental technology - ASL

            TH1-9745 Building construction - ASL

            TH845-895 Architectural engineering. - ASL

            TH900-915 Construction equipment in building - ASL

            TH2025-3000 Details in building design and construction - ASL

            H4021-4977 Buildings: Construction with reference to use Including public buildings, dwellings - ASL

            TH6014-6081 Environmental engineering of buildings - ASL

            TH9025-9745 Protection of buildings - ASL

Architecture Librarian

Alan Michelson's picture
Alan Michelson
Contact:
Gould Hall

Third Floor

Box 355730

206.543.7091
Website / Blog Page