Skip to main content

Research Guides

Organizations and Associations

American Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works (AIC) - Supports conservation professionals in the United States who preserve cultural materials. Of particular interest are outreach materials: How to Choose a Conservator and  Caring for Your Treasures as well as the AIC Code of Ethics.

Canadian Conservation Institute (CCI) - Created to promote the proper care and preservation of Canada's cultural heritage and to advance the practice, science, and technology of conservation. Of particular interest are CCI Notes, short and concise documents on specific conservation subjects and their Light Damage Calculator.

Getty Conservation Institute - Provides research and resources on the conservation of cultural heritage, particularly in the visual arts.  The Getty Library has an extensive collection of materials on conservation.

Heritage Preservation - A national advocacy organization for preservation of cultural heritage collections. Now part of FAIC, Heritage Preservation supports several activities including the Heritage Emergency National Task Force and Heritage Health Index.

Preservation Education Directory - Provides listings of educational opportunities in the area of preservation training. It includes both formal education courses from ALA-accredited institutions, as well as informal sessions, workshops, and webinars available through various organizations.

Regional Alliance for Preservation (RAP) - RAP provides information and resources on preservation and conservation for cultural institutions and the public throughout the United States. Several RAP organizations are particularly strong in supporting preservation of library and archival materials including CCAHA, NEDCC, and Lyrasis.

Seattle Heritage Emergency Response Network (SHERN) - A collaborative disaster-response network, SHERN emerged from the Heritage Preservation Alliance for Response Forum (Seattle, June 2006) which brought together representatives of cultural heritage institutions, emergency managers, and first responders to explore new ways of working together and understanding and communicating priorities.

Mailing Lists

Conservation DistList

An interdisciplinary forum, the DistList is open to conservators, conservation scientists, curators, librarians, archivist, administrators, and others whose work life touches on the preservation of cultural property.


Pacific Northwest Collections Preservation Listserv

PRESERVENW is an unmoderated list open to anyone interested in furthering the preservation of archival, library, and museum collections in the Pacific Northwest.


ALCTS Preservation Administrators Interest Group (PAIG)

Provides a forum for the discussion of issues and developments in preservation administration.