Skip to main content

Research Guides

Care and Preservation

Care, Handling and Storage of Books - Tips from the Library of Congress. The LOC also has a Selected Bibliography for the Care of Books.

Care, Handling and Storage of Works on Paper - Quick overview from the Library of Congress.

Guide to the ANSI /NISO/ LBI Library Binding Standard (PDF) - Guide that simplifies and explains the library binding standard.

Guidelines on the Selection and Transfer of Materials from General Collections to Special Collections - Guidelines from the Rare Books and Manuscript Section of ACRL.

IFLA Guidelines for Planning the Digitization of Rare Book and Manuscript Collections - Guidelines that address the specific needs of digitization projects for rare and special collections.

Oversize, overwhelmed? Caring for Maps and Architectural Drawings - webinar addressing the challenges of these often fragile, oversized materials.  From Connecting to Collections Care.

Paper and books - Care of objects and collections - Basic care and links to additional resources from Canadian Conservation Institute.  Includes works of art on paper.

Preserving Scrapbooks - An ALA ALCTS webinar on preserving scrapbooks.

Identification

Digitization

Preservation Guidelines for Digitizing Library Materials - From the Library of Congress.

Federal Agencies Digitization Guidelines Initiative (FADGI) - Federal Agencies Digitization Guidelines Initiative including guidelines for digitizing moving images.

Minimum Digitization Capture Recommendations - From ALA's Preservation and Reformatting Section.

Storage

See the Environment, Mold, and Pest Control resources under Collections Care.

Care & Handling of Rare Books Video

Featured Books