Skip to main content

Research Guides

Resources

Education

Digital Preservation Management Tutorial -- A comprehensive online tutorial and introduction to digital preservation management

Digital Preservation Education -- A web-based resource produced by the North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources focused on Digital Preservation Best Practices and Guidelines.

POWRR -- Preserving (digital) Objects with Restricted Resources provides many publications on digial preservation including the white paper From Theory to Action: Good Enough Digital Preservation for Under-Resourced Cultural Heritage Institutions.

JISC Digital Media -- UK-based organization focused on digital object lifecycle education, especially for still images, audio and film.

Publications

D-Lib Magazine -- describes itself as "an electronic publication with a focus on digital library research and development."

OCLC "Demystifiying Born Digital" -- This project focuses on enhancing the effective management of born-digital materials in special collections and archives.

Practical Technology for Archives - A peer-reviewed, open-access journal that focuses on digitial preservation and archival technology from a more pragmatic point of view.

Tools and Software

COPTR -- Community Owned digital Preservation Tool Registry. COPTR describes tools useful for long term digital preservation and acts primarily as a finding and evaluation tool. See especially their Tool Grid which profiles and evaluates more than 380 digital preservation tools.

Digital Curation Centre's Tools and Services page. 

 

Library of Congress

The Library of Congress has been heavily involved in the development of digital preservation practice and policy. They have a number of important and useful resources available on their website.


Digital Preservation home page: http://www.digitalpreservation.gov/

The Signal Blog:
http://blogs.loc.gov/digitalpreservation/

National Digital Stewardship Alliance: http://www.digitalpreservation.gov/ndsa/

Sustainability of Digital Formats: http://www.digitalpreservation.gov/formats/index.shtml

Digital Preservation Outreach and Education : http://www.digitalpreservation.gov/education/

Web Archiving at the Library of Congress: http://www.loc.gov/webarchiving/

Digital Preservation Coalitions

Digital Preservation Network (DPN) - A network (primarily of higher education institutions) that replicates local digital repositories in diverse nodes for a dark archive that is available in case of local catastrophic failure. Still in development (2015).

HathiTrust - Focuses on preserving digitized books and journal. Also provides free access to tons and tons out-of-copyright digitized content.

The HathiTrust also hosts a research center which seeks to "enable advanced computational access to the growing digital record of human knowledge."

Portico - Primarily known for eJournal preservation. Through publisher agreements, Portico provides access to material when resources are no longer available from the publisher or any other source.

LOCKSS (Lots Of Copies Keep Stuff Safe) - Focused on purchased (mainly eJournal and eBook) digital content, LOCKSS provides access to persistent and authoritative digital content regardless of access to a publisher's website, even for brief outages.

Team Digital Preservation

Standards

Open Archival Information System (OAIS) (PDF File) - An OAIS is an archive that has accepted the responsibility to preserve information and make it available for a designated community. It meets a set of responsibilities as defined in International Standard ISO 14721:2012.

Trustworthy Repositories Audit & Certification (PDF file) - TRAC is an tool to assess the reliability, commitment and readiness of institutions to assume long-term digital preservation responsibilities that is based on OAIS. Now also ISO 16363:2012.

PREMIS - The PREMIS Data Dictionary for Preservation Metadata is the international standard for metadata to support the preservation of digital objects and ensure their long-term usability.

Web Archiving

Archive-It - A subscription service from the Internet Archive that helps organizations to harvest, build, and preserve collections of web content.

Internet Archive - An online library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form.

Other Organizations

European Organizations

Digital Curation Centre -- UK organization to help institutions preserve digital data

Digital Preservation Coalition -- UK organization, see esp. the quarterly "What's New in Digital Preservation"

Digital Preservation Europe -- see esp. their animations starring Team Digital Preservation