Skip to main content

Social Work: Find Articles

Guide to resources for UW Tacoma Social Welfare & Social Work students

Finding Articles

Option 1: If you find an article on the web, use the Proxy Bookmarklet to see if UW has access.  The bookmarklet lets you log into the proxy without having to browse from the Libraries website.

Option 2: Go to the Ejournals page.  Click on the Articles tab to search for your article.

Option 3: If 1 & 2 don't work, email your subject librarian with citation information or web link. 

In most databases, if the full text of the article is not readily available, you will see a Check for Full Text button. 

Clicking on the button will do one of the following:

a) take you to the article - look for PDF full text,
b) take you to the catalog - click on the link next to Content Available
c) link you to Interlibrary Loan so you can request a copy of the article.

Step 1:  Check the peer review status of the JOURNAL.

Search for your title in Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory.

When you find your journal, look for a "referee shirt" symbol.  The symbol will appear next to any journal title that is peer reviewed and/or refereed (interchangeable terms).

Step 2:  If the JOURNAL is peer reviewed, then assess the ARTICLE.

Is it a full research article?  If your article is a short news brief, an editorial, a letter to the editor, or a re-print of a conference proceeding, it is not peer reviewed.

Loading ...

Featured Journals

All journals listed are [UW restricted]

Cross-discipline databases

Social Work Databases

Health & Medicine related databases