Skip to main content

Finding TV Reviews for shows airing from the 1990s to the present

There is not a precise way to find reviews of television programs.  It is usually safest to begin with a basic keyword search for the title of the program and review*.  Some databases have official subjects or document types that designate reviews; however, these are assigned inconsistently.  You may have to try multiple searches before you find reviews for a program.

See also Finding Film Reviews

Research Databases Search Examples:

Academic Search Complete

Includes magazine and journal articles from the 1980s to the present.

 

See these three examples of how to search for reviews in this database:

Search Example #1

Search Example #2

Search Example #3

 

Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC)

Includes communication/media related magazine and journal articles from the 1980s to the present.

 

 

Search Example #4

Nexis Uni

Includes newspapers published around the world.  Also includes some magazines.

Enter:  "Title of show" and review*

Examples:

  • "desperate housewives" and review*
  • "Jersey Shore" and review* and mtv

TV shows airing before the 1990s

Research Database: Search examples:

New York Times 1851-2011

Los Angels Times 1881-1991

These databases include images of the stories as they appeared in the original newspapers.

 

 

Search Example #1

Readers' Guide Retrospective

Includes magazine articles from 1890 to 1982.

 

See these two examples of how to search for reviews in this database:

Search Example #2

Search Example #3