A searchable collection of encyclopedias and other references sources.
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and international agreements
Call Number: KZ4968 .O84 2003 v.1-4
Summary: Entries on various aspects of the United Nations, as well as articles explaining essential concepts and philosophies, as well as generous quotations or full text for all key treaties, conventions, pacts, protocols, and declarations.
The Greenwood encyclopedia of international relations
Call Number: JZ1160 .N65 2002 v.1-4
Summary: Focuses on the large and small powers and the course of world civilizations, their formative wars and diplomatic, political and economic relations, describing how progressive inclusion into the modern state system affected them.
Summary: Introduces themes in international relations, with an emphasis on contemporary issues, such as diplomacy, global warming, terrorism, human rights, rogue states, loose nukes, United Nations security, arms control, and ethnic cleansing.
The international encyclopedia of revolution and protest: 1500 to the present
Call Number: JC491 .I58 2009 v.1 - 8
Summary: Covers the history of protest and revolution over the past 500 years – throughout the modern era of mass movements.
Summary: A single-volume reference resource that comprehensively describes the major languages and language families of the world.
Encyclopedia of conflicts since World War II
Call Number: D843 .E46 2007 v.1 - 4
Summary: A comprehensive survey of 172 conflicts since WWI, with an introductory essays on the causes, descriptions of various diplomatic efforts, and a discussion of conflicts that changed the course of late 20th-century history.
Summary: Provides a broad overview of national governments throughout history, explaining their structures and histories, key players and events, and how governments effect, and are affected by, social change.
Summary: Contains articles on world events; countries; organizations; regions; ethnic groups; and themes such as social history, demography, family life, politics, economics, religion, thought, education, science and technology, and culture.
Summary: Contains 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies, Women in World History.
Summary: Encompassing tsunamis, elephant conservation, ocean pollution, mining regulation, and permafrost melt, the 300 authoritative articles in this unique and wide-ranging encyclopedia investigate all types of phenomena that change life on Earth.
Summary: Covers all aspects of global health, including physical and mental health entries, biographies of major doctors and researchers, profiles of medical institutions, organizations, and corporations, descriptions of drugs and operations, articles on national health policies, and thematic health topics in the humanities.
Encyclopedia of the global economy: a guide for students and researchers
Call Number: HF1359 .O28 2006 v.1 - 2
Summary: Covers a wide spectrum of concepts, people, and organizations related to economic globalization—from its origins in the quest for exotic spices in the 16th century to the debates and controversies that reflect it today.
Globalization: encyclopedia of trade, labor and politics
Call Number: JZ1318 .G57864 2006 v.1 - 2
Summary: Provides an overview of the economic, international business, political, legal, and environmental ramifications of globalization.
International encyclopedia of men and masculinities
Call Number: HQ1090 .I58 2007
Summary: A guide to the current state of scholarship about men, masculinities, and gender around the world.
Routledge international encyclopedia of women : global women's issues and knowledge
Call Number: HQ1115 .R69 2000 v.1 - 4
Summary: Comprehensive global coverage of women's issues and concerns, from violence and sexuality to feminist theory.