University of Washington Q Center
A professionally-supported resource, advocacy, and mentoring center for LGBTQ students and LGBTQ concerns at the University of Washington.
An organization that works to ensure and promote dignity, safety, and equality for all lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender Washingtonians.
Provides a forum for enlightened discussion of issues and ideas of importance to lesbians and gay men.
Gay, Lesbian & Straight Education Network (GLSEN)
A leading national education organization focused on ensuring safe schools for all students.
America's largest civil rights organization working to achieve lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) equality.
International Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans and Intersex Association (ILGA)
Provides resources pertaining to public and government cases of discrimination against LGBT people by supporting programs by working with international organization and the international media.
National Gay & Lesbian Task Force
LGBT community trainers and organizers; practical, in-the-trenches support to win elections, defeat anti-LGBT ballot measures, stop anti-LGBT legislation, and build coalitions.
The Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD)
Working with the news, entertainment and social media, this organization works towards bringing culture-changing stories of LGBT people to millions and holding media accountable for the words and images they present
The collection and analysis of primary sources is central to historical research. A primary source can take many forms: letters, memos, newspapers, diaries, film, photographs, speeches, government reports, British parliamentary debates, sermons, magazines, web sites, etc. Often they are created during the time period which is being studied (correspondence, diaries, newspapers, government documents), but they can also be produced later by eyewitnesses or participants (memoirs, oral histories).
You may find primary sources in their original format such as in an archive. You may also find them as recently published book collections (often called a "documentary history"), microfilm, electronic databases, digitized images, etc.
LGBTQ Activism in Seattle History Project
Collections of oral histories, photographs, and documents about LGBTQ activism in Seattle.
LGBTQ Digital Collaboratory: Oral History Hub
Contains links to 35 oral history archives from across the U.S., Canada, and the U.K.
Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP)
A digital collection of zines and related literature written by queer people and addressing queer issues.
UW Seattle GLBTQ: Special Collections & Archival Resources Guide
This guide highlights archival and printed materials, archived websites, and photographs available in Special Collections that relate to the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer community in the Pacific Northwest.
Database that contains over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including children’s and women’s magazines.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: Parts I & II
Articles, reports & manuscript material illustrating LGBTQ history and culture since 1940.
Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex and the Family
Fully searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Transcriptions of letters and diaries. Most previously published.
Rosie the Riveter WWii American Homefront Project
Oral history interviews with women who worked in the defense industry in the San Francisco area during WWII.
Studies in Scarlet: Marriage & Sexuality in the U.S. & U.K., 1815-1914
Includes American, British, and Irish cases involving domestic violence, bigamy, seduction, breach of promise to marry, and custody of children, as well as trials for murder and rape from 1815-1914.
Urban Experience in Chicago: Hull House and Its Neighborhoods, 1889-1963
Images and historical documentation on the development and history of Hull House.
Votes for Women: Selections from the National American Women Suffrage Association Collection
Consists of 167 books, pamphlets and other artifacts documenting the suffrage campaign, 1848-1921.
Washington Women's History Consortium
Consortium dedicated to preserving and making available resources about Washington women's history.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Primary sources in women's history from 1600-2000.
Consists of correspondence, scrapbooks, clippings, college records, images, diaries, publications and ephemera documenting the history of women physicians.