Skip to main content


Write-N-Cite is a small utility (program) that you can download in order to run an abbreviated version of RefWorks in Microsoft Word and cite references and create bibliographies with the click of a button.


Install Write-N-Cite

In RefWorks, under Tools, select Write-n-Cite. Download the appropriate version for your computer.


Accessing Write-N-Cite in MS Word

Open Microsoft Word.  Click RefWorks in the menu bar, then click on Log In.


Logging In 

Login Code - If you use your NetID to log in to Refworks, you will need to use your login code.  To get the code, go to RefWorks, click on Tools, then Write-n-Cite.

Group Code - If you don’t use NetID to log in, enter in the UW group code [UW restricted] and your username and password.

Inserting Citations in MS Word

Accessing RefWorks

Click on the RefWorks tab in MS Word. Follow log in instructions above if needed.


Inserting Citations

Place you cursor in the desired spot in your document and click on Insert Citation.  Select from the list of recently used items or click on Insert New.  Choose from your folders to view articles. Click on the article you want to cite. If you are using footnotes, click on the box next to Make Footnote.


Inserting the Bibliography

When you are ready to generate the bibliography or reference list, click on Bibliography Options and Insert Bibliography.

If using Footnotes, your citations will already be in the footnotes. 


** Be sure to check the formatting of your in-text citations and bibliography/footnotes! **

One Line/Cite View: Insert References without Write-N-Cite

If you are not using Microsoft Word for your word processing program, if your version of Word isn't compatible with Write-N-Cite, or if you experience difficulties with Write-N-Cite, you can still format citations and bibliographies for your papers using the One Line/Cite View method.

To cite references in a paper using One Line/Cite View:

  1. Open your document.
  2. Log in to RefWorks if you have not already done so.
  3. In the RefWorks window, click the Cite icon { } next to the desired citation. This will bring up the Citation Viewer window where the citation will be in double brackets:
    To cite a second reference in the same location, click the Cite link next to that reference.

  4. Copy the citation.  Go to Edit and select Copy or press Ctrl + C.
  5. Go to your document. Place your cursor where you want to insert the reference. If desired, create a footnote or endnote in Word (Select Insert > Reference > Footnote/Endnote).
  6. Go to Edit in your word processing program and select Paste (or press Ctrl + V) to paste the citation in brackets. The citation in double brackets is a citation placeholder -- what RefWorks reads when formatting your paper -- and is not what your final citation will look like.
  7. To cite a particular page in the source, type /snn or /fnn at the end of the content but before the semi-colon within the double brackets, replacing nn with the actual page number: {{60 Young,Charles S. 1999/s49;}}
    - The /s acts a "switch". Use this switch to add page numbers after the author and year information for output styles that always require page numbers in the in-text citation or footnote, such as MLA.
    - The /f is another switch. Use this switch to add page numbers after the author and year information for output styles that do not normally contain page numbers in the in-text citation or footnote, such as APA.
    Example: {{60 Young,Charles S. 1999/f49;}} .
    Note:Depending on output style, it may be necessary to insert a comma and space before the page number:
    Example: {{60 Young,Charles S. 1999/s, 49;}}
    For more information about modifying citations and adding page numbers, see RefWorks help for modifying an in-text citation or footnote.
  8. To cite another reference, first clear the Citation Viewer and then click the Cite link next to your desired citation. Repeat steps 4-10 until you have completed your document.
  9. Save your document.
To create your bibliography:
  1. Click on Bibliography in the Citation Viewer window.
  2. Choose your desired Output Style. (If you inserted footnotes or endnotes, choose an Output Style that uses those notes. Only two styles have pre-designed notes listed: Chicago Notes and Turabian Notes. If you wish to use another Output Style, you need to either correct individual notes or use the Output Style editor to create a new Output Style for notes to your specifications.)
  3. Choose Format Paper and Bibliography. Browse to the document you want to format.
  4. Click Create Bibliography.

RefWorks will automatically create a new document with Final in the file name. If you need to revise your document, add more references, etc. be sure to do so in the original document (not the Final document). Both notes and bibliography will be formatted according to the Output Style you selected.

Always double-check your bibliography and in-text citations for accuracy.


MS Word

Download the newest version of MS Word and other Microsoft software for free at: uWare.