Skip to main content

Technical Issues

I am trying to use the Check for Full Text button from off-campus.  I have logged in to Off Campus Access, but still can't access the articles.

You need to download the Proxy Bookmarklet.  Once installed, click on Check for Full Text, then click on the proxy bookmarklet in your browser to access the resource. The page should refresh and you should have access to the article. 

When I try to log in to RefWorks or Write-N-Cite, I'm asked for a group code?

You'll need the UW RefWorks group code to log in to RefWorks or Write-N-Cite from off-campus locations, and to use the RefMobile interface. 

I am using a ProQuest database and can not export my references to RefWorks.

When you create a My Research account in ProQuest, DO NOT link your My Research account to RefWorks.  If you do connect the accounts, you will not be able to export records into RefWorks.

To turn off the connection:

  1. Log in to My Research from a ProQuest database.
  2. Click on the My Account tab.
  3. Click on RefWorks setting in the right menu box.
  4. Uncheck the box next to "Yes, I have an existing RefWorks account that I want to link with My Research."

How can I convert the RefWorks account tied to my UW NetID to one that works with the group code?

First, back up your RefWorks database! Then, while logged in to your UW NetID-enabled RefWorks account, look for the "Update Profile" link the the upper right. Change the auto-generated username to your preferred login name and change the password. Your account should now work with the group code login.

Remember to change your bookmarks to the group code-enabled RefWorks login.

How can I transfer references from EndNote or Zotero into RefWorks?

How to import references from other bibliographic management programs.

I tried to install Write-n-Cite on my Mac, and got an error message that says "You can't open the application Write-N-Cite 2.5.1 because PowerPC applications are no longer supported."

The current version of Write-N-Cite is not compatible with the Mac Lion (OS 10.7) operating system. RefWorks is developing a new version of Write-N-Cite with Lion compatibility, but no definite release date has been set. The current workaround is to use the One Line/Cite View method to format papers. 

What browsers can I use with RefWorks?

RefWorks is compatable with:

  • Internet Explorer Version 7.0 or later (Windows only)
  • Firefox 3.X or later (Windows, Mac and Linux)
  • Safari 3 and later (Mac)   Note: RefGrab-It does not work with Safari.
  • Google Chrome (Windows only)   Note: RefGrab-It does not work with Google Chrome

Note: If you are using Safari and can not get RefWorks to work, try using Internet Explorer or Firefox.

Working with RefWorks

Should I use one RefWorks account for all my references, or separate accounts for different projects?

It may be easiest to use one account for everything and set up a separate folder of references for each project, but it's entirely up to you and however many separate accounts you think you can remember and manage.

I already have a long bibliography that I typed in Word (or Excel, or Access). Can I convert it to RefWorks format?

It is possible, but it's not automatic and preparing your data is a rather involved process. Unless it is a very long bibliography, it may be simpler to search for your references online (if possible) and download them into RefWorks.

I don't use Microsoft Word. Can I still use Write-N-Cite?

The Write-n-Cite utility only works with Microsoft Word. If you're using another word processing program, you can still format citations and bibliographies for your papers using the One Line/Cite View method.

Can I attach documents, files, or images to records in my RefWorks account?

Yes, RefWorks allows you to attach files to records in your RefWorks database, up to a limit of 100 MB per account. Any files you have attached to records in your RefWorks account will not be available to others through RefShare.

I read through this entire FAQ and my question wasn't answered! Now what?

Ask your question though our Ask a Librarian e-mail form and a member of the Libraries staff will contact you. Please be as specific as possible with your question, because the more details you can provide us (such as whether or not you are on a UW campus, or if you got an error message and what that message said), the more quickly we will be able to diagnose and fix your problem.

RefWorks for Alumni

Alumni users will have full access to all RefWorks features. Any future updates and features releases will be provided to them as well.

For more information, see RefWorks Alumni Program FAQs.