Skip to main content

Citation Handouts: Quick Reference Guides

These guides will help you to cite your sources using ACM, IEEE, APA, Chicago, or MLA Styles.

Managing Citations in Databases

IEEE
Click on the "My Projects" link at the top of the page, then choose create an IEEE account. This will allow you to save citations in "My Projects" using folders.

ACM Digital Library

Click on "My Binders" at the top of the page to create an account. New Binders can be created for different topics.

INSPEC
click on "Register" at the top right of the page and create an account. Within records you can "save to folder"

EBSCO
Click the Add to Folder link below each item to move individual citations to the temporary folder. If you would like to create a permanently accessible personalized folder, click on "sign into My Ebscohost" and click "create new account". Then when you click add to folder from a search screen it will be saved in your personal account.

UW Libraries Search
e-Shelf allows you to save and organize items that you find during your UW Libraries Search session. To access e-Shelf, click the e-Shelf link at the top of the page. Because you required to login with your NetID, your account will already be created.

RefWorks

Refworks is a web-based personal citation databases and bibliography creators that allow you to import, store, and share your research citations and automatically format your bibliographies into whatever style you need (APA, MLA, Chicago, and many more).

There are two options for logging in to RefWorks:

Login to RefWorks with NetID [UW restricted] (more info)

OR

Login to RefWorks without NetID [UW restricted] (more info)

Tips & Guides
  • Download Proxy Bookmarklet to access full text at home
  • RefWorks 2.0 - guide covering creating an account, adding references, creating a bibliography, and troubleshooting problems.
  • To schedule in-person training, contact Erica Coe, elcoe@uw.edu, 253-692-4651.

EndNote Web

EndNote Web is a web-based personal citation databases and bibliography creators that allow you to import, store, and share your research citations and automatically format your bibliographies into whatever style you need (APA, MLA, Chicago, and many more).

Login to EndNoteWeb [UW restricted]

Free Web Citation Tools