Skip to main content

TCORE 113 Communities and the Common Good -- Ishem : Article databases

Key Databases

There are many databases that will help you locate scholarly articles about your group or community. Below is a selected list that should help you get started.  Don't hesitate to ask for help if you do not find what you need.

Academic Search Complete is a great database to start with! 

How do I Find an Article from a Citation?

If you're using a database like America: History and Life, look for a link to PDF Full Text  

If there is no PDF Full Text link, look for

This purple box will help you determine if the UW Libraries has an electronic or print copy of the journal article you need.



If there is no  PDF Full Text or   then search the UW Libraries Search for the title of the journal

    Search tips

    1. Start with a database like Academic Search Complete
    2. Click on the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals (if available)
    3. Combine your identity/community with specific issues, debates, or trends

                   Examples:

    • women and (pay or wages or salary)
    • Asian Americans and "model minority"
    • immigrants and (citizenship or green cards)
    1. Look for subject terms in the database

                   Examples:

    • Academic Search Complete uses Model Minority Stereotype as a subject term
    • Academic Search Complete uses Gender Inequality or the phrase Equal Pay for Equal Work

    Using Google Scholar

    Google Scholar

    Google Scholar searches across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites>

    How to access UW Restricted materials in Google Scholar:

    1. From the Google Scholar homepage
    2. On the next page, click the "Library links" option that appears in the left-hand menu.
    3. Using the search box, search on "University of Washington" to reveal the access link labeled "University of Washington - Full Text @ UW." Check the box next to this option, then click "save."

    Tip: If you don't see the "University of Washington - Full Text @ UW" link on the first page of results, click the ">" icon to see more results. ‚Äč

    Learn More