THIST 375 British Empire - Sundermann: Articles
Key Database
Historical Abstracts is the best database to use when looking for scholarly journal articles in the field of British history including for the period 1450 to the present.
Tips for searching Historical Abstracts:
- Search tip about using limits: If you go to advanced search, you can limit to articles in "Document Type." Also, you may want to search for articles about a particular era by using putting a date range in the "Historical Period."
- Finding the full-text: If the compete article isn't available in the database, clicking on this icon
will search UW holdings to see whether a full text version is available online.
Featured Journal
Journal of Imperial and Commonwealth History Available online.
Example of a scholarly, peer-reviewed article from the Journal of Imperial and Commonwealth History:
Bowen, H.V. "British Conceptions of Global Empire, 1756–83." The Journal of Imperial and Commonwealth History. 26 no. 3 (1998): 1-27. Accessed April 1, 2013.
http://www.tandfonline.com.offcampus.lib.washington.edu/doi/pdf/10.1080/03086539808583038
How do I know if an article is peer reviewed?
Step 1: Check the peer review status of the JOURNAL.
- Search for your title in Ulrichsweb,a database of information about journals and magazines.
- When you find your journal, look for a "referee shirt" symbol. The symbol will appear next to any journal title that is peer reviewed and/or refereed (interchangeable terms).
Step 2: If the JOURNAL is peer reviewed, then assess the ARTICLE.
- Is it a full research article? Then you can be confident that your article is peer reviewed.
- If your article is a short news brief, an editorial, a letter to the editor, or a re-print of a conference proceeding, it is generally not peer reviewed.
Other databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. - America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to locate scholarly articles, book reviews, dissertations, etc. published in U.S. history journals. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text back issues of hundreds of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's.
Using Google Scholar
 |
Google Scholar searches across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. These resources can be very useful, but keep in mind not all of them are peer-reviewed. |
How to access UW Restricted materials in Google Scholar:
- From the Google Scholar homepage, open the menu in the upper left hand corner of the screen.
- Open the Settings menu and click the "Library links" option on the left side of the screen.
- Using the search box, search on "University of Washington" to reveal the access link labeled "University of Washington - Full Text @ UW." Check the box next to this option, then click "save."
Tip: If you don't see the "University of Washington - Full Text @ UW" link on the first page of results, click the ">" icon to see more results.
Learn More