TCORE 112 Plankton to Porpoises: organisms of the Puget Sound Waters - Hunt: Find Articles
Starting Points
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. - Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers 1971-current. Major areas of coverage include:
aquaculture, aquatic organisms, aquatic pollution, brackish water environments, conservation, environmental quality, fisheries, freshwater environments, limnology, marine biotechnology, marine environments, meteorology, oceanography, policy and legislation, and wildlife management. - Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource for locating citations in sustainability topics, urban ecology, land use, demography, etc. - Oceanic Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to the international technical literature on marine and brackish-water environments. Focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Conduct cited reference searching - in other words, find a great article and then look at more recent articles that have cited it.
What is an organism?
Organism
noun, plural: organisms
An individual living thing that can react to stimuli, reproduce, grow, and maintain homeostasis. It can be a virus, bacterium, protist, fungus, plant or an animal.
Finding Full Text
From a database
In most databases, if the full text of the article is not available, you will see a Check for Full Text button.
This will search for the article and:
a) take you to the article - look for PDF full text,
b) take you to the catalog - click on the link next to Content Available
c) link you to Interlibrary Loan so you can request a copy of the article. Click on Articles (1-2 days).