Skip to main content

TWRT 211 Argument and Research in Writing - Multiple Instructors: Articles

This guide offers the best starting points for assignments in TWRT 211 Academic Writing and Research.

Find Articles in Databases

Find more databases by subject

The list below links to the "Find Articles" tab of Library research guides.  If you don't see a subject you're looking for, view the complete list of reserch guides.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

How to access UW Restricted materials in Google Scholar: Before searching in Google Scholar, make sure to install the UW Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet. The bookmarklet lets you log into the proxy without having to browse from the UW Libraries website.  More information can be found this webpage:

About Articles

Why for finding specific information on your topic
Where   articles can be found in databases and in print--in the form of journals, magazines, trade publications, newspapers. To find articles on our website, you can use UW Libraries search and the article databases, research guides,and electronic journals tabs. 

begin by narrowing your search using boolean operators, key terms, and concept mapping

Getting your Article

In most databases, if the full text of the article is not readily available, you will see a Check for Full Text button. 

Clicking on the button will do one of the following:

a) take you to the article - look for PDF full text,
b) take you to the catalog - click on the link next to Content Available
c) link you to Interlibrary Loan so you can request a copy of the article.

There are several ways go about finding an article via the UW Libraries website. However, the process is easiest when you have the article's citation handy -- which identifies the article's full title, journal, and author name. 

Start by searching the article title in quotes in UW Libraries Search. 


View the article by choosing “Access Options” and select one of the listed databases.


Once in the database look for Adobe PDF icon OR UW Libraries Full Text icon to access the full text.

  • If searching with the full article title doesn't work, try searching with the journal title instead. 

Show Me 

Learn More


Other Research Guides...

Not finding what you're looking for?  Want to try some different databases?  Check out: