Skip to main content

Latino/a and Latin American Studies: Find Articles

Starting Point

Databases for Latino/a Studies

These databases allow you to search subject-specific journals, periodicals and newspapers.  You can filter sources by language in the advanced search options of these databases to help you locate material in Spanish. Again, repeating you search in English and Spanish will give you the most comprehensive results.

How to Search for Spanish Language Material in Databases

Depending on the database, there are a few strategies to find resources written in Spanish:

You can:

  • conduct your search in English and then, once you have a list of results, click on the Search Options and then from the Language list, select Spanish
  • search using Spanish search terms.
  • locate the Thesaurus or Subject Terms and appriate Spanish terms.

Be aware of databases that auto correct Spanish words to similar English words e.g. "Corrida" to "Corridor"

 

About Articles

Why for finding specific information on your topic
Where   articles can be found in databases and in print--in the form of journals, magazines, trade publications, newspapers. To find articles on our website, you can use UW Libraries search and the article databases, research guides,and electronic journals tabs. 
How

begin by narrowing your search using boolean operators, key terms, and concept mapping

Getting your Article

In most databases, if the full text of the article is not readily available, you will see a Check for Full Text button. 

Clicking on the button will do one of the following:

a) take you to the article - look for PDF full text,
b) take you to the catalog - click on the link next to Content Available
c) link you to Interlibrary Loan so you can request a copy of the article.

There are several ways go about finding an article via the UW Libraries website. However, the process is easiest when you have the article's citation handy -- which identifies the article's full title, journal, and author name. 

Start by searching the article title in quotes in UW Libraries Search. 

 

View the article by choosing “Access Options” and select one of the listed databases.

 

Once in the database look for Adobe PDF icon OR UW Libraries Full Text icon to access the full text.

  • If searching with the full article title doesn't work, try searching with the journal title instead. 

Show Me 

Learn More

Loading