Skip to main content
Click to talk now with a UW Librarian (opens new window). Actual librarian may vary.
ask us!
email | chat | phone

United States History: Starting Points

Get background information on your topic

American history multi-volume set Gale Virtual Reference Library  
This collection of digitized subject-specific encyclopedias includes over 150 volumes specifically on topics in American History. You can search across the full text of every encyclopedia in this collection at once, or you can search inside just one set (that is, one publication title that may have multiple volumes) at a time. Several online titles on this guide's page are located in this collection.

Politics, foreign policy & war

Multicultural perspectives

African American history

African American Studies Center   The Oxford African American Studies Center provides more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the field. The core content includes:

  • Africana
  • Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895
  • Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present
  • Black Women in America, Second Edition
  • African American National Biography

Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history: the Black experience in the Americas   

Blackpast.org

John Henrik Clarke Africana Library  (Cornell)  full-text digital historical texts

American Indian History

The American Indian experience   

Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties     Browse by tribe name or year. For more, check out print reference sources.

Asian American history

The Asian Pacific American heritage  
For more, check out print reference sources for Asian American history.

Gender studies and women's history

Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America    For more, check out print reference sources.

Hispanic American history

The Oxford encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States     For more, check out print reference sources.

Campus Library Home
Contact Us/Comments
University of Washington Bothell
Box 358550 | 18225 Campus Way NE | Bothell, WA 98011
phone: 425-352-5340 (Voice & Relay)
© 2018