Skip to main content
Click to talk now with a UW Librarian (opens new window). Actual librarian may vary.
ask us!
email | chat | phone

BNURS 501: Contemporary Issues in Advanced Nursing Practice (Anderson): Library Workshop: Week 5

Debriefing--Library Homework Assignments

How did the library homework assignments go? 

Questions/comments about or suggestions for improvements of the three library assignments?

The Canvas assignments are:

  1. "Module 1 Assignment 2: Interlibrary Loan Account Setup" homework.
  2. "Module 2 Assignment 1: Searching CINAHL - Scholarly Resources & Full Text"
  3. "Module 2 Assignment 2: Searching PubMed (MedLine) for Research Articles"

Julie’s goal to have the CINAHL and PubMed Canvas learning activities be available to you throughout the program to refer back to for instructions, as needed.

Finding Articles and Websites Today

Handouts Links: 

Julie's Search Tips

Refer to the Nursing Theories and Models  web page, or the page with Introduction to Nursing Theory page (with theory-oriented bullets), as needed

I suggest searching in the databases below by using these strategies below to search for your clinical area and nurs* theor*. 

Example:   pediatric oncology and nurs* theor*

(Optional) If you want to search for the theory or theorist, search with these strategies:

  1. The first and last name of the theorist
  2. The name of the theory
  3. The last name of the theorist and the theory together
  4. The last name of the theorist and the main idea of the theory
  5. If you need to broaden your search, try searching for the last name of the theorist and nursing, e.g. neuman and nursing.

Databases listed below: EbscoHost databases | Web of Science | CINAHL | PubMed | (Optional) ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global | (Optional)  WorldCat

Search across CINAHL, MedLine (PubMed), and other databases as the same time.

Please see the illustrated instructions of how to search across the EbscoHost databases is located online at

The steps are listed below:

  1. Scroll to the top of the page in the CINAHL database.
  2. Click on the “Choose Databases” link above the search boxes area.
  3. A new window will open – titled “Choose Databases.” Check the Select box, and click on the OK button.
  4. (Optional) limit to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals

Web of Science. Science, social sciences, and arts and humanities citation indexes.

  1. In the search box, type in your clinical area and nurs* theor*
  2. Click on the "Search" button.
  3. Look at your results for citations of interest. Also look for the "Times Cited" number to the right of the citations. The older the citation is, the more likely it is that it will be cited by another author. If it has been cited, click on the number to see if this leads you to more citations of interest.
    • ​​(Optional) The default sort is by "Publication Date - newest to oldest." Experiment viewing the results of other sorting options such as "Times Cited -- highest to lowest," and "Usage Count -- Since 2013."
  4. To view the abstract, if available, click either on the "View abstract" button below the citation, or on the article title.
  5. (Optional) Check the boxes next to your results, and click on the "Add to Marked List" button to create a temporary list to view later. Click on the "Marked List" button when you are ready to review what you have.
  6. Click on the purple "Check for Full Text - W" button to locate the full text of the article, or type in the journal or book name from the citation into the UW Libraries Search system to view online and print holdings.
    • Also click on the  "Check for Full Text - W" button to gain access to the “Citation” feature to cite in APA format.

CINAHL. How-to guide, and the UW Health Sciences Library guide. Also, see the Searching CINAHL learning activity in Canvas for more CINAHL information. From EbscoHost, unlimited users. Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature.

CINAHL search words and phrases that might apply:

  • nursing role and theory
  • advanced nursing
  • advanced nursing practice
  • nursing role
  • nurse administrators
  • theory and nursing role and advanced nursing practice 
  • theory and advanced nursing practice 

Searching CINAHL by the name of the theory.

  1. Click on the "CINAHL Headings" link above the search boxes, on the dark purple/black bar.
  2. Type in "nursing models" into the search box, and click on the Browse button.
  3. Click on the "Nursing Models, Theoretical" link. (Theorists list in docx and pdf formats  [from 10/2017].)
  4. Scroll down the page and look for your theorist's last name, with the name of the theory.
  5. Click in the box to the left of your theory, and then click on the Search Database button on the right-hand side of the page. This should generate a list of citations.
  6. Experiment adding to your search both broad and specific search words/phrases about your clinical practice area to see what is available in the theory/theories.
  7. If you want to add limits such as dates and publication types, look on the left-hand side of the page in the "Refine your results" area. Click on the "Show More >>" link. A new screen should open where you can enter in the limiters that you want, then click on the "Search" button.

PubMed (Publicly accessible - but some full text is UW restricted). Help guides: Quick Start Guide, and Tutorials. Also, see the Searching PubMed learning activity in Canvas for more PubMed information. National Library of Medicine's search service to access over 27 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases.

     Try the "Julie's Search Tips" listed at the top to search in PubMed .

PubMed search words that might apply today:

  • comfort Kolcaba oncology
  • caring theory Swanson social support
  • "advanced practice nursing" "nursing role"
  • "advanced practice" nursing

(Optional) ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.  Includes citations for dissertations ranging from 1743 to those accepted last semester from around the world; represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools. Includes 2 million+ full text dissertations published from 1997 to the present. Citing a dissertation in APA format.

     Examples of searches:

  1. Keyword search examples: 
    neuman and pediatric nursing    
    orem and oncology nursing
  2. On the results page, click on the Abstract/Details link.
  3. To cite in APA style - click on the "Cite" link to the right of the abstract, then copy and paste the citation.

(Optional)  WorldCat. Search libraries around the world, including books, journals, maps, sound recordings and other media, etc. WorldCat Help Guide.

    Searching to discover different types of formats:

  1. Type the name of your theory or theorist into the search box, such as: meleis transitions model
  2. Click on the Search button. This should generate a list of citations.
  3. Look for the “Format” area on the left to see what types of materials are available. Options include articles, books, eBooks, thesis/dissertation, DVDs, etc. Click in the box to the left of the format(s) you would like to view the citations of, and the results should update.
  4. Click on the title of the result to see the description and availability.

Web Searching

Google or Google Scholar search engines. Search for the name of the theory. Google is the largest World Wide Web search engine. The goal of Google Scholar is to limit to scholarly web sites. Sources include peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. About Google Scholar.

Wikipedia. Search for the name of the theory. Wikipedia is a multilingual, web-based, free content encyclopedia project. It is written collaboratively by volunteers from all around the world. Most of the articles can be edited by anyone with access to the Internet, simply by clicking the edit this page link. In every article, links will guide you to associated articles, often with additional information. About Wikipedia.

Evaluating Resources Guides

Searching Google

Searching in Google.

  • Illustrated instructions (from 2016) on how to limit to .org sites from the Advanced Search page in docx and pdf formats

Search Tips:

Google Scholar:


Looking-up items in the UW Libraries collections

UW Libraries Search system - for find articles, books, journals and multimedia materials in the University of Washington Libraries.

UW Health Sciences Library - Click on the eJournals link to search their electronic journals catalog.

Campus Library Home
Contact Us/Comments
University of Washington Bothell
Box 358550 | 18225 Campus Way NE | Bothell, WA 98011
phone: 425-352-5340
© 2017