BIS 300: Interdisciplinary Inquiry (Nitta): Workshop 3 - Tuesday, November 8

Course research guide for BIS 300 with Keith Nitta at UW Bothell, Fall 2022.

Annotated Bibliographies

Annotated Bibliography Guide
This guide contains useful information, resources and examples for creating an annotated bibliography.

How can I get the full text of an article?

What should you do if you find an interesting article in a database but no link to the full text?

Click on the purple "Check for full text" button – this button will attempt to connect you to the full text article if it is owned by the UW.

Subject-specific databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publications in criminology and related disciplines; international in scope.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education related scholarly articles and books
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education-related literature, from pre-K through adult education.
Hein Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized legal journals, reviews, U.S. government documents, regulations, laws, and treaties.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social and public policy literature from periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of humanities & social sciences electronic journals & 20,000+ ebooks.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic, research, and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines, 1872 to present.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in social work and social welfare.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the field of sociology, including international literature and other related disciplines.

UW Libraries Search

Advanced Search | FAQ

Scholarly vs. non-scholarly?

Gillespie article
Gillespie, Diane, Sally Rosamond and Elizabeth Thomas. "Grouped Out?: Undergraduate Default Strategies for Participating in Multiple Small Groups." Journal of General Education, 55.2 (2006): 81-102.
California Students Are Struggling in Math. Will Reforms Make the Problem Worse?
By Rivka Galchen

Google Scholar

The goal of Google Scholar is to limit results to scholarly web sites. Sources include peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. About Google Scholar.

How do I connect Google Scholar with UW Libraries? Directions for configuring Google Scholar to tell you which of your search results can be accessed for free from the UW Libraries, and will even provide a direct link to the resource in the catalog.