Skip to main content
Click to talk now with a UW Librarian (opens new window). Actual librarian may vary.
ask us!
email | chat | phone

BISSKL 375: Research Writing Seminar (Atkinson): Find Primary Sources

Historical Newspapers

U.S. Legal Documents

More Digital Collections & Archives

Here are some examples of Digital Archives and Collections that you may want to look at:

What's a primary source?

Primary sources are original records created at the time historical events occurred or well after events in the form of memoirs and oral histories.

Primary sources may include letters, manuscripts, diaries, journals, newspapers, speeches, interviews, memoirs, documents produced by government agencies such as Congress, photographs, audio recordings, moving pictures or video recordings, research data, and objects or artifacts such as works of art.  (From: Using primary sources on the Web. Site also includes strategies for reading and evaluating primary sources).

Historical Image & Video Collections

Click to Chat with a UW Librarian

Click to chat with a UW librarian

Digital Collections and Archives

Identifying Digital Archives and Collections or Government documents is the perfect time to use Google for your research! Digital archives and collections are generally housed at universities and non-profits and will have a .edu or .org web address. Government sites usually have a .gov address.

The custom Google search below will help you limit your searches - try it out!

Campus Library Home
Contact Us/Comments
University of Washington Bothell
Box 358550 | 18225 Campus Way NE | Bothell, WA 98011
phone: 425-352-5340
© 2017