We are striving to locate different types of articles: qualitative, quantitative, review, and classic article/study.
Guides that include search tips for the databases of CINAHL, PubMed, and Web of Science.
- CINAHL Guide - nursing and allied health article database
- PubMed Guide - from the National Library of Medicine, a large health, nursing and medicine article database
- Web of Science Guide - science, social sciences, and arts and humanities citation indexes.
- Impact Factors Guide - from the UW Libraries. Includes info about the journal impact factor, author impact factor, and article impact factor.
- From the guide: "An Impact Factor is one measure of the relative importance of a journal, individual article or scientist to science and social science literature and research. Each index or database used to create an impact factor uses a different methodology and produces slightly different results, revealing the importance of using several sources to judge the true impact of a journal's or scientist’s work. Included on this page is information on Journal Impact Factor, Author Impact Factor, and Article Impact Factor."
Advice from a previous BNURS 520 instructor -- When you have a citation, and you are not already in a search engine, I suggest going directly to the e-journals page via this portal: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/ejournals. That seems to me the simplest way to get articles.
- To conduct a comprehensive search:
- Use a variety of search words to retrieve different results in the databases. To accomplish this: brainstorm synonyms before you search, use subject headings, scan for words in your search results to either add to or replace your search words. Use different combinations of search words to retrieve different results.
- If you find articles you like, make sure to take advantage of the reference lists in them. These can refer you to other articles, authors, journals, reports, web sites, etc. We call this "Reference List Mining."
- Search in both CINAHL and PubMed/MedLine. You can also search in other databases, depending on your topic: ERIC for education, PsycINFO for psychology, Business Source Complete for leadership/management, etc.
- Take advantage of the citation tracking feature in databases. These tools allow you to see what articles have cited the one you are viewing. These database features are titled in CINAHL "Times Cited in this database," PubMed "Similar Articles," Web of Science or "Times Cited" or "Cited Reference Search," and Google Scholar "Cited By."
- Keep a list of words and subject headings you used in your searches. Title the list with the name of the database used (such as CINAHL or PubMed). If you keep track of what you have already searched for, you don't have to repeat searches, unless you want to. This is called a "Search Journal."
- You can also take a screen shot and/or copy and paste your search history to these lists to keep track of what you have already searched for, and how many results you received. Both CINAHL and PubMed have a “Search History” feature.
- After you have searched and read some articles, if you continue to search with new search words you have discovered, you are likely to start recognizing articles, authors, and journal titles. We call this "reaching saturation," where you are starting to see repeats of what you have already found. This is a good sign that you have done a comprehensive search.
- Go broad with your topic if you are not finding enough articles
- Be a detective and hunt for parts of articles that you may find helpful
- Use and (either lower case or all caps) to connect search words
- Use the Help features in the databases
- International research is respected by the faculty in this program
Contacting Julie for assistance:
- For help from us with this assignment email Julie at firstname.lastname@example.org, or call Julie (425) 352-3452, with your topic, where you have already searched, and what you typed in when searching.
- Julie is available for individual or small group appointments. Email Julie at email@example.com to set-up dates and times.
Julie's Desk Hours during Winter Quarter 2018
- The desk is located on the first floor of the library
- The phone number to reach Julie when she is at the reference desk is different, the phone number is: (425) 352-3146
Julie's Desk Hours
- Fridays from 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
- Sunday, Jan. 7 from 12 p.m. to 5 p.m.
Handout in docx and pdf formats