Skip to main content
Click to talk now with a UW Librarian (opens new window). Actual librarian may vary.
ask us!
email | chat | phone

Health Studies: Library Workshop

Library Workshop

This week we will review finding articles in the PubMed database for your literature review spreadsheet/matrix. 

1. Interlibrary Loan Services Guide: A help guide using the UW Libraries Interlibrary Loan services.

2. Background Research Activity in Canvas, due on Jan. 11th. How did this go? See the Books & Encyclopedias page in this guide for a link to the Gale Virtual Reference Library resource.

3. Literature Review Spreadsheet/Matrix assignment

You will complete a spreadsheet which you should begin on Week 3 of class (an Excel matrix will be posted on Canvas) detailing a minimum of 6 research articles (found via the UW library online research databases).  The spreadsheet will help you organize your articles, detailing their study designs, how they relate to your research question, and what the main findings are.  These must be peer reviewed papers rather than web citations. 

4. PubMed

  • PubMed (Publicly accessible - but some full text is UW restricted). To learn more, see the How-to guide from the UW Health Sciences Libraries and/or the Quick Start Guide and Tutorials from Pubmed. PubMed for Nurses video tutorials.
    • National Library of Medicine's search service to access the 27 million citations in Medline and Pre-Medline (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases.
    • If you are off-campus and want to access the UW Restricted full text in PubMed, click on the PubMed link above and you should be prompted to login with you UW NetID and password.
  • "PubMed Library Learning Activity -- due Friday, Jan. 12th" in Canvas. How is it going? What questions do you have?
  • Use the UW Libraries Search system to locate full text articles online and in print. Books, journals, films and other formats of resources are also available. Some items are UW Restricted. See the Search for an article title in the UW Libraries Search brief directions page. More directions are located online at the UW Libraries Search Help Guide.

Optional Resource Links:

Optional Tutorials:

Midterm and Final Research Proposal Papers

The largest assignment for this class will be completion of an individual research proposal. For this project, each student will select a health research topic of interest, develop a research question, and propose a research project that could provide evidence with regards to the research question. The Midterm Paper will consist of a) an introduction section that introduces the broad topic of interest, the specific problem area that your research focuses on, and concludes with your research question, and b) a background and significance section which highlights important research related to your question and justifies why your researcher is important (i.e., what gap in the current literature will your study fill).

The Final Proposal Paper will revise the intro and background sections, and add in sections pertaining to the methods (study design, population, measures, procedures, ethics, and type of analysis), and discussion (implications, limitations, & future directions).

 

Assignment Overview in Week 2

The web resources to be used for your Literature Review Matrix/Spreadsheet assignment are linked below.

1. The Health Studies Orientation Guide in pdf and docx formats

2. Review of the "Interlibrary Loan Account Setup" homework assignment in Canvas (Located in Canvas, and due on Sunday, Jan. 7th.)

3. Review of "Background Research Activity" in Canvas, due Thursday, Jan. 11th. See the Books & Encyclopedias page in this guide for a link to the Gale Virtual Reference Library resource. 

4. Review the "PubMed Library Learning Activity" quiz in Canvas, due Friday, Jan. 12th.

What questions do you have?

  • PubMed (Publicly accessible - but some full text is UW restricted). The How-to guide from the UW Health Sciences Libraries. Quick Start Guide and Tutorials. PubMed for Nurses video tutorials.
    • National Library of Medicine's search service to access the 27 million citations in Medline and Pre-Medline (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases.
    • If you are off-campus and want to access the UW Restricted full text in PubMed, click on the PubMed link above and you should be prompted to login with you UW NetID and password.
  • Use the UW Libraries Search to locate full text articles online and in print. Books, journals, films and other formats of resources are also available. Some items are UW Restricted. See the UW Libraries Search Help Guide for directions.

UWB Writing & Communication Center: APA Formatting guide, the Campus Library APA Style Guides for citing sources, and Julie's APA citation formats (Used in the BNURS 360 course) page.

Campus Library Home
Contact Us/Comments
University of Washington Bothell
Box 358550 | 18225 Campus Way NE | Bothell, WA 98011
phone: 425-352-5340
© 2017