Skip to main content

Research Guides

Central Asian Resources: Central Asian Dictionaries

This guide emphasizes materials in Central Asian languages or materials relevant to Central Asia that require explanation.

Kazakh Dictionaries

Kengesbaev, Ismet Kengesbaiuly, 1907-
Tolkovyi slovar Kazakhskogo iazyka. Pod obshchei red. S. K. Kenesbaeva. Alma-Ata, Izd-vo Akademii nauk Kazakhskoi SSR, 1959-61.
2 v.
Suzzallo Stacks
PL65.K44 K45

Krippes, Karl A.
Kazakh (Qazaq)-English dictionary / Karl A. Krippes. Kensington, Md. : Dunwoody Press, c1994.
Suzzallo Stacks
PL76.4 .K75 1994

Malbaqov, M.
Qazaq sozdikteri : qazan tongkerisine deiingi qazaq sozdikteri khaqynda / Myrzabergen Malbaqov. Almaty : "Ana tili", 1995
Suzzallo Stacks
PL65.K44 M3 1995

Netalieva, Q.
Qazaq tilining orfoepiialyq sozdigi / Q. Netalieva. Almaty : Ghylym, 1977.
Suzzallo Stacks
PL65.K44 N47

Qazaq tilining qysqasha etimologiialyq sozdigi. Red.: A. Ysqaqov, R. Syzdyqova, Sh. Sarybaev. Almaty, Ghylym, 1966. 240 p.
Suzzallo Stacks
PL65.K44 Q38

Shnitnikov, Boris Nikolayevich, 1886-1961.
Kazakh-English dictionary, by Boris N. Shnitnikov. With a pref. by Nicholas Poppe. The Hague, Mouton, 1966.
Suzzallo Stacks
494.065 In2r v.28

Shoibekov, R. N.
Qazaq zergerlik onerining sozdigi / R.N. Shoibekov. Almaty : "Ghylym", 1991.
Suzzallo Stacks
PL333 .S53 1991
 

Tazhutov, A. (Aqas)
Qazaqsha-aghylshynsha tolyq sozdik : 7000-gh zhuyq soz / A. Tazhutov. Almaty : "Sozdik-Slovar", 1996.
Suzzallo Stacks
PL76.4 .T39 1996 v. 1

Til bilimi instituty (Qazaq SSR ghylym akademiiasy)
Qazaq tilining dailektologiialyq sozdigi. [Red. Gh. Musabaev]. Almaty, "Ghylym", 1969.
Suzzallo Stacks
PL65.K44 A43

Ysqaqov, A.
Slovar iazyka Abaia / pod obshchei red. dok. filol. nauk A. Iskakova. Alma-Ata : Nauka, 1968.
Suzzallo Stacks
PL65.K49 K858

ONLINE

Internet Access and Training Program (IATP)'s Russian to Kazakh and Kazakh to Russian dictionary.
http://www.sozdik.kz/
Features sound files giving pronunciation of many of the Kazakh entries.

Kyrgyz Dictionaries

Abuduldaev, E.
Kyrgyz tilinin tushundurmo sozdugu / red. E. Abduldaev, D. Isaev. Frunze : Mektep, 1969.
Suzzallo Stacks
PL65.K54 A2

Abduldaev, E
Kyrgyz tilinin tushundurmo sozdugu : eki tomduk / red. E. Abduldaev, D. Isaev. Frunze : "Mektep," 1984-
Suzzallo Stacks
PL65.K54 A23 1984

Shambaev, Syrgabek
Kyrgyzcha-oruscha-anglische sozduk / tuzuuchulor Shambaev. Syrgabek, Dzhusaev Dzholdosh. Frunze : Mektep, 1978.
Suzzallo Stacks
PL65.K54 S49

Shambaev, Syrgabek
Kyrgyzcha-oruscha-anglische sozduk / tuzuuchulor: Shambaev Syrgabek, Dzhusaev Dzholdosh. Bishkek : "Kyrgyzstan" basmasy, 1994.
Suzzallo Stacks, Auxiliary Stacks
PL44.4 .S53 1994

Sharshekeeva, Camilla D.
English-Kyrgyz dictionary = Anglische-kyrgyzcha sozduk / editors: D. Sharshekeeva ...[et al.]. Bishkek : Inter Constructions LLC, 2005.
Suzzallo Stacks
PL44.4 .S42 2005

Tajik Dictionaries

Farhangi tojiki ba rusi : 70 000 kalima va ibora / zeri tahriri D. Saimiddinov, S.D. Kholmatova, S. Karimov ; [murattibon, V. A. Kapranov ... et al.]. Nashri 2. bo ilova, takmil va isloh. Dushanbe : Instituti zabon va adabieti Rudaki, 2006.
Suzzallo Stacks
PK6976 .F37 2006

Farhangi zaboni tojiki (az asri sh to ibtidoi asri kh kh) Iborat az du jild. Takriban 45.000 kalima va ibora bo ilovai miftokhi arabi. Dar zeri takhriri M. Sh. Shukurov [i dr.]. Moskva, Sovetskaia Entsiklopediia, 1969-
Suzzallo Stacks, Suzzallo Reference
PK6976 .F3

Hillmann, Michael Craig, 1940-
Basic Tajik(i) word list / Michael Craig Hillmann. Springfield, MD : Dunwoody Press, 2003
Suzzallo Stacks
PK6976 .H55 2003

Instituti zabon va adabieti ba nomi Rudaki.
Tadzhiksko-russkii slovar. Pod red. M. V. Rakhimi i L. V. Uspenskoi. Glav. redaktor E. E. Bertels. 40 000 slov. S prilozheniem grammaticheskogo ocherka, sostavlennogo V. S. Rastorguevoi. [Sostaviteli: S. D. Arzumanov i dr.]. Moskva, Gos. izd-vo inostrannykh i natsionalnykh slovarei, 1954.
Suzzallo Stacks
PK6976 .A7 1954

Olson, Randall B.
Standard Tajik-English dictionary / compiled and edited by Randall B. Olson, Rochelle A. Olson. [Dushanbe?] : STAR Publications, c2000.
Suzzallo Reference
PK6976 .O44 2000

Tajik-English dictionary / Jahangir Mamatov, S.J. Harrell, Kathy Kehoe, Karim Khodjibaev. Springfield, VA : Dunwoody Press, 2005.
Suzzallo Stacks
PK6976 .T35 2005

Turkmen Dictionaries

Meredov, A
Turkmen klassyky edebiiatynyng sozlugi / A. Meredov, S. Akhally. Ashgabat : "Turkmenistan", 1988
Suzzallo Stacks
PL333 .M474 1984

Turkmen dilining orfoepik sozlugi / TSSR YA-nyng korrespondentchleni B. Charyiarovyng redaktsiiasy bilen. Ashgabat : Ylym, 1978.
Suzzallo Stacks
PL333 .O75

Turkmen dilining sozlugi / M. IA. Khamzaevin umumy redaktsiiasy bilen. Ashgabat : Turkmenistan SSR Ylymlar akademiiasynyn neshriiaty, 1962
Suzzallo Stacks
PL333 .T87 1962

Uzbek Dictionaries

Abdullaev, A. B. (Akhmed Buzrukovich)
Uzbekcha suzlarning rus tilidagi manodoshlari = Russkie sootvetstviia uzbekskikh slov / A.B. Abdullaev, M.IU. IUnusova. Toshkent : Uqituvchi, 1993.
Suzzallo Stacks
PL56.4 .A23 1993

Aloev, I.
Inglizcha-ruscha-uzbekcha lughat = English-Russian-Uzbek dictionary / I. Aloev ; taqrizchilar A.A. Abduazizov. Toshkent : Qomuslar bosh tahririiati, [1993].
Suzzallo Stacks
PL56.4 .A498 1993

Asalov, Kh.
Uzbekcha-ruscha, ruscha-uzbekcha maktab lughati : rus maktablarining 3-10 sinflari uchun / Kh. Asalov, R. Iuldoshev. Toshkent : Uqituvchi, 1981.
Suzzallo Stacks
PL56.4 .A8 1981

Dirks, William.
Zangori kema : an Uzbek-English dictionary. Draft. [Jubail Industrial City, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia : W. Dirks,2001]
Suzzallo Rereference
PL56.4 .D57 2001

Khakimov, Kamran M.
Uzbek-English, English-Uzbek dictionary / Kamran M. Khakimov. New York, NY : Hippocrene Books, c1994. 329 p.
Suzzallo Stacks
PL56.4 .K52 1994

Uzbek tilining izohli lughati : 60 000 suz va birikmasi / [avtorlar S.F. Akobirov ... et al.] ; Z.M. Marufov tahriri ostida ; Uzbekiston SSR Fanlar akademiiasi, A.S. Pushkin nomidagi Til va adabiet instituti. Moskva : "Rus tili" nashrieti, 1981. 2 v. ; 27 cm.
Suzzallo Reference  PL55.U84 U82
Suzzallo Stacks  PL55.U84 U82 1981