Skip to main content

Research Guides

Special Collections History of Science and Medicine: Citations for Special Collections materials

Highlighting history of science and medicine materials in Special Collections and related materials.

Introduction

If you are using archival sources in your research, either papers, presentations, or other publish materials, citations are required. There are different ways to cite archival sources depending on the format required by your instructor research discipline.There are basic elements for every style explain here, and below are examples of citing archival sources using APA, MLA and Chicago citation styles.

Tip: Keep track of this information while you are researching so you don't have to track back latter for these details.

1. Title: usually the title given by the archives to a file or item (you can also find this in the finding aid); in the absence of a title provide a short description, add a relevant date at the end to distinguish it from similar materials if necessary

ASUW Budget files: Requests
Interoffice correspondence - to Puget Sound Trading Company, 1896

 

2. Name of collection: The title given to the collection by the archives, you don't need to included any dates that might be at the end of the title.

David and Marilyn Janigan Map Collection
W. T. Edmondson Papers

 

3. Accession Number: The number given to the collection by the archives

There should be two groups of numbers with a dash, either (XXXX-XXX or XX-XXX), or for photo collections (PHXXXX)

 

4. Box number: the number of the box in which the archival record is physically stored, Folder number: the number of the folder in which the archival record in physically stored

Box 7, Folder 3

 

5. Repository and location: the name of the archives or library

Special Collections, University of Washington Libraries.

Archival Citations Examples

ITEM LEVEL: Used when you're citing one specific document

Item Description (order or negative number if applicable). Box number, Folder number. Accession or Collection Number. Collection Name. Repository.

Manuscript Collection:

Letter, Matthew W. Hill to Meany, 17 Dec. 1921. Box 37, Folder 8. Acc. 0106-001. Edmond S. Meany Papers. Special Collections, University of Washington Libraries.

 

Visual Materials Collection:

Studio portrait of Elizabeth Adams (AWC4138). Box 1, Folder 1. PH0919. Adams Family photograph collection. Special Collections, University of Washington Libraries.

 

COLLECTION: Used when you're referring more generally to the collection at large.

Collection Name. Accession or Collection Number. Repository.

Miles C. Poindexter Papers. Acc. 3828-002. Special Collections, University of Washington Libraries.

Creator. (Date). Item Description (Box Number, Folder Number, Negative/Order number if applicable). Collection name, Accession Number, Special Collections, University of Washington Libraries.

Manuscript Collection:

Hill, Matthew W. (December 17, 1921). Letter from Matthew W. Hill to Edmond Meany (Box 37, Folder 8). Edmond S. Meany Papers, Acc. 0106-001, Special Collections, University of Washington Libraries.

 

Visual Materials Collection:

Davidson, I. G. (ca. 1889). Studio portrait of Elizabeth Adams (Box 1, Folder 1, AWC4138). Adams Family photograph collection, PH0919, Special Collections, University of Washington Libraries.

FOOTNOTES

Item Description (Neg or Order Number if applicable), date, box number, folder number, Collection Number, Collection Name, Special Collections, University of Washington Libraries.

Manuscript collection:

Letter, Matthew W. Hill to Meany, 17 Dec. 1921, Box 37, Folder 8, Acc. 0106-001, Edmond S. Meany Papers, Special Collections, University of Washington Libraries.

 

Visual Materials Collection:

Studio portrait of Elizabeth Adams (AWC4138), Box 1, Folder 1, PH0919, Adams Family photograph collection, Special Collections, University of Washington Libraries.

 

BIBLIOGRAPHIC CITATION

Collection Name. Collection Number. Special Collections, University of Washington Libraries.

Miles C. Poindexter Papers. Acc. 3828-002. Special Collections, University of Washington Libraries.
Loading ...