Folklore & Mythology: Databases

Folkloristics, the study of Folklore, is the study of human expressive culture, and includes myths, legends, folk- and fairy-tales, jokes, proverbs, jump-rope rhymes, material culture, and much more.

Database Starting Points

Below is a list of research databases, accessible via the University of Washington Libraries Articles and Research Database list, which can get you started on your research in Folklore and Mythology. Use these databases to find citations to pursue. Some of the databases will also have access to full text articles.

Note: Many of the databases in this guide are restricted to UW students, staff and faculty. These are marked with . To connect to these databases from home you will need to log in with your UWNetId.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sources related to English language and literature, 1920 to present.
AnthropologyPlus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles & other sources in the fields of anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore and more.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles published by the American Anthropological Association.

Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
Extensive collection of tales, myths, and legends from around the word, classified according to Aarne-Thompson-Uther.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in all disciplines.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive source for scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of humanities & social sciences electronic journals & 20,000+ ebooks.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the field of sociology, including international literature and other related disciplines.

Mughal Empire Folklore

Jahangir, the fourth Mughal Emperor (1605-1627), became the subject of folktales in Indian literature, art, and cinema for his illicit romance with Anarkali. There are many conflicting accounts from scholars about the specifics of Jahangir and Anarkali's story.