Skip to main content
Ask Us!
University of Washington Libraries

Library Guides

Creative Commons Licensing

File:Creative commons.jpg

"When educational resources are digital and openly licensed under Creative Commons licenses, they can be shared with everyone for the marginal cost of $0. Textbooks, courses, and lesson plans become free and easy to find, share, customize, and combine. Thanks to CC licenses, learners can find and incorporate free materials for reports and presentations, educators can customize textbooks and lesson plans, universities can distribute video lectures to a global audience, and publishers can adapt materials and develop services for an enhanced learning experience" -[Creative Commons]

OER Repositories

Merlot: online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. Includes open textbooks. The Material Type and Audience limiters in Advanced Search are particularly helpful.
OER Commons: This resource seeks to collect and distribute a variety of OER at a variety of levels and subjects. The Education Level search scope and Material Type facet are particularly helpful.
Open Course Library A project of the Washington State Board of Community and Technical Colleges, the Open Course Library offers course materials for 81 of Washington's most enrolled college courses. 
Saylor.org: Saylor offers full, openly licensed courses online as well as advice on how to figure out whether something is openly licensed. 
Open Education Consortium: An independent search engine that indexes open education courses from members of the Open Education Consortium. Note that this search includes resources from Merlot (listed above) but has less advanced search functionality.

Complete Courses

Open Course Library: The WA Open Course Library project offers 81 of Washington's most enrolled courses. There are a lot of great readings in these course files. Great community college content
Saylor.org: Saylor offers full courses online. It can be really helpful to use the reading lists from Saylor to find and organize your courses.
Open Courseware: An independent search engine that indexes open education classes from places like MIT, Yale and UMass.
 

Open Access Books

Open Textbook Library: hundreds of complete, open college-level textbooks.
BC Campus Open Textbooksa curated collection of open textbooks, many reviewed by British Columbia faculty.
College Open Textbooks: a large collection of open textbooks organized by subject.
Global Textbook Project:  texts hosted or created by the University of Georgia.
Wikibooks: A project of the Wikimedia Foundation, this collection of group-written textbooks in a variety of sources follows rules similar to Wikipedia.
Project Gutenberg: full text of classics and public domain works.
Bloomsbury Academic:  UK publisher who has released some of their academic titles for open access/open education.

Images and Artwork

Creative Commons Search: Creative Commons has created this really useful search engine that lets you search for resources that are CC licensed. The image search is the most useful.

Accessibility and OERs

Accessibility and Open Educational Resources : a resource that provides examples, key factors, and resources about accessibility of OERs.

UW Libraries | UW Bothell/CCC Library | UW Tacoma Library | Health Sciences Library | Gallagher Law Library | Privacy | Terms