International Studies / International Law: Background Information
Recommended Reference Collections
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and handbooks on a wide variety of subjects. [UW restricted]
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports, summaries, and pro/con views on a range of current issues,1923-present.
International Relations
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and international agreementsCall Number: KZ4968 .O84 2003 v.1-4Summary: Entries on various aspects of the United Nations, as well as articles explaining essential concepts and philosophies, as well as generous quotations or full text for all key treaties, conventions, pacts, protocols, and declarations.
The Greenwood encyclopedia of international relationsCall Number: JZ1160 .N65 2002 v.1-4Summary: Focuses on the large and small powers and the course of world civilizations, their formative wars and diplomatic, political and economic relations, describing how progressive inclusion into the modern state system affected them.
International relations: the key conceptsCall Number: JZ1160 .G75 2008Summary: Introduces themes in international relations, with an emphasis on contemporary issues, such as diplomacy, global warming, terrorism, human rights, rogue states, loose nukes, United Nations security, arms control, and ethnic cleansing.
The Oxford companion to politics of the world Call Number: JA61 .O95 2001Summary: A guide to international relations and national domestic policies throughout the world, emphasizing events after post-World War II events.
