Skip to main content

Japanese Law A-Z

Japanese Law-Related Resources by Topic or Type (A-Z)

Objectives of this Guide

  • To introduce some of the most useful resources for finding Japanese legal information in English, Japanese, and other languages, and to provide some useful hints about the best ways to make use of them.
  • To provide an introduction to the University of Washington East Asian Law Department of the Marian Gould Gallagher Law Library and the kinds of services we provide.

History

The Japanese law collection had its beginnings in the 1930's with gifts to the library of Japanese legal materials, including a substantial donation of books by the Ministry of Justice in Japan. Statistics for library expenditures stretching back to the 1940's show a sustained commitment to building on these early foundations. A substantial Ford Foundation grant to the Law School in 1961 provided the initial impetus for the Asian Law Program, setting aside funds for library development and enabling the appointment in 1962 of the first full-time faculty member in Asian law. The library has continued to add to its Japanese law collection ever since. It keeps long runs of periodicals, and also continues to add to its fine collection of treatises in Japanese on a wide range of subjects related to Japanese law.

Statistics

There are about 32,595 Japanese volumes in the collection. The collection includes roughly 13,525 monographic titles and 250 periodical titles in Japanese.

Collection Development Policy

The overall goal of the Gallagher Law Library's Collection Development Policy is to "support the curricular and research needs of the University of Washington School of Law." With this in mind, the collection development policy for Japanese law stresses the collection of legal materials of an academic nature on a wide variety of topics concerning law in Japan. Materials on Japanese law are collected in any language, but the primary emphasis is for materials in English and Japanese. Primary materials (Statutes and Cases) and legal periodicals, including law reviews and commercial publications are given a high priority, and academic treatises on the law of Japan are also collected intensely. Subjects of particular interest to faculty members are given special attention.