THIST 416 Life and Thought: Martin Luther King, Malcolm X, and Angela Davis: Starting Points
Sources for background information
Encyclopedias and and other reference works provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. In addition most encyclopedia articles include short bibliographies that will lead you to the major works on the topic.
- Black Past
BlackPast.org, an online reference center makes available a wealth of materials on African American history in one central location on the Internet. These materials include an online encyclopedia of over 4,000 entries, the complete transcript of more than 300 speeches by African Americans, other people of African ancestry, and those concerned about race, given between 1789 and 2016, over 140 full text primary documents, bibliographies, timelines and six gateway pages with links to digital archive collections, African and African American museums and research centers, genealogical research websites, and more than 200 other website resources on African American and global African history.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the present
Available online in Oxford African American Studies Center .
Tacoma Reference Stacks
E185 .E545 2006
African American History
- Black Women in AmericaAvailable online and in print
UW Tacoma Library Reference
E185.86 .B542 2005
Coverage of the achievements and contributions of African American women. - Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights : from Emancipation to the Twenty-first CenturyUW Tacoma Library Reference
E185.61 .E54 2003 v. 1-2 - Jim Crow EncyclopediaAvailable online and in print
UW Tacoma Library Reference
E185.61 .J53 2008 v. 1-2
Covers the complex system of legal segregation that existed from the 1880s to the 1960s. - Oxford African American Studies CenterMajor encyclopedic collection of African American history resources including African American National Biography & Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 - present.
King, Malcolm X, Davis
Critical ResistanceOrganization working to end the prison industrial complex. Co-founded by Angela Davis
- The Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education InstituteBuilding upon the achievements of Stanford University's Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project, the King Institute supports a broad range of educational activities illuminating Dr. King's life and the movements he inspired.