Skip to main content
Ask a Librarian
More primary sources
Films & History
University of Washington Libraries
THIST 416 Life and Thought: Martin Luther King, Malcolm X, and Angela Davis
More primary sources
THIST 416 Life and Thought: Martin Luther King, Malcolm X, and Angela Davis: More primary sources
Behind the Veil
Oral history interviews chronicling African-American life during the age of legal segregation in the south.
Citizen's Council (white supremacist newspaper 1955-1961)
Civil Rights Digital Library
Civil Rights in Mississippi Digital Archive
Crossroads to Freedom
Freedom Summer Collection
Greensboro Voices: Voicing Observations in Civil Rights and Equality Struggles
Historical Publications of the U.S. Civil Rights Commission
Land of (Unequal) Opportunity
March on Milwaukee Civil Rights History Project
Milburn (Mississippi Burning) Investigation
Oral Histories of the American South - Civil Rights
Papers of the Congress of Racial Equality, 1941-1967
ProQuest history vault. Black freedom struggle in the 20th century
Collections related to the civil rights movement including records of federal agencies (US Commission on Civil Rights), organizations (Southern Christian Leadership Conference) and individuals (Bayard Rustin).
Race and Place: An African-American Community in the Jim Crow South
Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project
Sovereignty Commission Online
Television News of the Civil Rights Era 1950-1970
Who Speaks for the Negro
American Black Journal
This site includes episodes of the original programming (first title Colored People's Time) on Detroit Public Television in 1968.
Black Archives of Mid-America
Documents the social, economic, political and cultural histories of persons of African American descent in the central United States, particularly the Kansas City, Missouri region.
Black Panther Party Sound Recording Project
Primary source recordings of speeches and events of the Black Panther Party in California in the 1960's and 1970's.
Legal records, newspapers, and other archival sources that document everyday life in Harlem 1915-1930.
Digital resources from the New York Public Library's Schomburg Center covering the history and culture of African peoples in the diaspora.
Documenting Our Past: The Teenie Harris Archive Project
Photograph's by Pittsburgh Courier photographer Charles "Teenie" Harris documenting everyday life for African Americans from the 1930s to the 1970s.
FBI Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room
Full-text documents from the FBI files on people like Thurgood Marshall, Medger Evers, Martin Luther King, and more.
Ten O'Clock News
WGBH video clips from 1974 to 1991 focusing on news stories relating to Boston's African American community.
The Church in the Southern Black Community
Biographies, church documents, sermons, encyclopedias and more from the digital project Documenting the American South.
Films & History >>
Dec 21, 2017 2:27 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.