BNURS 360 A: Critical Reading & Information Literacy in Nursing - (Churchill): Julie's APA Citation Formats

• APA References Page Entries guide from the UWB Writing & Communication Center
• More APA Style Guides from the UW Bothell Campus Library
  • Print holdings of the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the APA from 2010.
• Paraphrasing and Quoting site from the Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison
• Some Guidelines for Preparing an Annotated Bibliography

Citations listed on the library worksheets. All should be double spaced, (on page 180 of the manual):

• Citing a journal article found by using the online CINAHL database with out a Digital Object Identifier (DOI):

  Mains, D. A., Fairchild, T. J., & Rene, A. A. (2006). An employee assistance program for caregiver support. Journal of Gerontological Social Work, 47(1/2), 157-73. Retrieved from http://web.ebscohost.com

• Citing a journal article found by using the online CINAHL database with a Digital Object Identifier (DOI):

  Gibson, M., Carek, P. J., & Sullivan, B. (2011). Treatment of co-morbid mental illness in primary care: How to
  minimize weight gain, diabetes, and metabolic syndrome. International Journal of Psychiatry in Medicine,
  41(2), 127-142. doi:10.2190/PM.41.2.c

• More DOI Information: If you enter in the DOI to the web address box of a browser and it does not work, try it in the “Resolve a DOI Name” page at http://dx.doi.org/

• Citing an article found online that is publicly available on the web:

  Harrefors, C., Savenstedt, S., Lundquist, A., Lundquist, B., & Axelsson, K. (2012). Professional caregivers' perceptions on how persons with mild dementia might experience the usage of a digital photo diary. The Open Nursing Journal,6, 20-29. doi: 10.2174/1874434601206010020
  
  Please Note: If the citation above had no DOI, I would use the article page address in the retrieval statement: Retrieved from http://www.benthamscience.com/open/tonursj/articles/V006/20TONURSJ.pdf

• Citing Wikipedia articles:

  Plagiarism. (2007, June 26). In Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Retrieved from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plagiarism

• Citing a newspaper article found by using Academic Search Complete:

  Jeff, H. (2007, May 27). The week; Severe nursing shortage seen in the state by 2020. New York Times, p. 2. Retrieved from http://web.ebscohost.com

• With no author listed, Citing a newspaper article found by using Academic Search Complete:

  The nursing shortage. (2009, May 31). New York Times, p. 7. Retrieved from http://web.ebscohost.com

• Citing a magazine article found by using Academic Search Complete:

  Cox, K., Lacey, S., & O'Donnell, R. (2010). Don't be fooled: Demographics ensure nursing shortage will return with better economy. Modern Healthcare, 40(50), 25. Retrieved from http://web.ebscohost.com

More citations formats for online and print sources:

• How to cite an electronic-only book from the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the APA from 2010.

Entire book:

Bryant, P. (1999). Biodiversity and conservation. Available from
       http://darwin.bio.uci.edu/~sustain/bio65/Titlpage.htm

• Formatting for a UW Restricted subscription service online book chapter from the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the APA from 2010.

  Mitchell, H. W. (1913). Alcoholism and the alcoholic psychoses. In W. A. White & S. E. Jelliffe (Eds.), The modern treatment of nervous and mental diseases (pp. 287–330). Retrieved from PsycBOOKS database.

• Citing a signed definition from an edited encyclopedia in APA format:

Mullner, R. & Giachello, A. L. (2005). In S. Oboler & D.J. González (Eds.), The Oxford encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States. Retrieved from http://www.oxfordreference.com

• Citing an unsigned definition/encyclopedia article from Oxford Reference Online:

  Care and maintenance. (2005). A dictionary of finance and banking. Retrieved from http://www.oxfordreference.com

• Citing an edited dictionary definition or encyclopedia article from Oxford Reference Online:

  Sleep disorders. (2006). In A.M. Colman, (Ed.). A dictionary of psychology.
  Retrieved from http://www.oxfordreference.com

• Signed encyclopedia articles in a multi-volume print set (reference list entry) from the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the APA from 2010.

Evans, I. M. (2001). Principle of reinforcement. In N. J. Smelser & P. B. Baltes
        (Eds.), International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences
        (pp. 12999-13002). Oxford: Elsevier.

• Citation of a work discussed in a secondary source (pg. 178 of the manual):

In Text Citation

Seidenberg and McCledlland's study (as cited in Coltheart, Curtis, Atkins, & Haller, 1993)

Parenthetical Citation (Julie is assuming this one)

(Seidenberg and McCledlland's study as cited in Coltheart, Curtis, Atkins, & Haller, 1993)

Reference List Entry

Coltheart, M., Curtis, B., Atkins, P., & Haller, M. (1993). Models of reading aloud:
        Dual-route and parallel-distributed-processing approaches. Psychological
        Review, 100, 589-608.