English 102 - Leising: Primary Sources/Visual Texts

• Advertising Resources - Includes links to a number of sources of advertising images from the 19th and 20th centuries.

• AP Photo Archive - Includes press photographs and audio dating back to 1826.[UW restricted]

• American Memory - Historical documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, books, pamphlets, maps, and other resources from the Library of Congress.

• LIFE photo archive - Millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.

• New York Public Library Digital Galleries - Source for historical images, maps and documents.

• Digital History: American Historical Images - an online collection of historical images hosted by the University of Houston in partnership with other institutions. The images are categorized in over 20 categories from advertisements to daguerreotypes to political history and more.

Here are some examples of Digital Archives and Collections that you may want to look at:

• Humanities and Social Sciences Online Oral Histories: Various oral history collections from the United States and around the world.
   
•  American Memory: Library of Congress Archives of American Historay. Digital collections include written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document American History.
   
• American Women's History: Links to digital collections of American history with a focus on American women. Includes bibliographies of additional primary resources.