Cochrane Library - UW restricted. Evidence-based medicine resource databases. Unlimited users. Use the asterisk (*) symbol to retrieve multiple variations of a word; e.g. nurs* will retrieve nurse, nursed, nurses, and nursing.
What is Cochrane Library? The Cochrane Library is a UW Restricted database that consists of a regularly updated (monthly) collection of evidence-based medicine materials. These materials are organized into different databases.
To access Cochrane Library away from campus, click on the Cochrane Library link above and you should be prompted to login with you UW NetID and password.
-More information from UW Health Sciences Library: Evidence-Based Practice Tools Summary.
-HELP (pdf) guide for using Cochrane Library.
Read more about techniques for locating Evidence-Based Practice Resources from the UW Health Sciences Library. The Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses page will take you to a section that discusses and links to Cochrane Library databases. The Research Articles page is where you can find links to PubMed and CINAHL.
The list of the databases contained within Cochrane Library. In Cochrane Library, see the About the Cochrane Library page for more information.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE; Other Reviews)
Basic Search Strategies. (The HELP (pdf) guide is great in this database.)
1. To search the Cochrane Library, type your topic into the search box at the top of the home page, Example: restraint use reduc*. All databases in the library are searched.
2. The numbers of results are listed at the top of the search results of the "Search" page, as illustrated below.
3. Click on the shortened database names, such as Cochrane Reviews or Trials (example shown above), to open the results from the different databases. The Cochrane Reviews are in full text.
4. Click on the title to open the text of the result, as illustrated below.
6. From either the "Advanced Search" button on the home page, or the "Search" tab or link after you have conducted a search, you can access limiting options by clicking on the "Title, Abstract, Keyword" box including Record Title; Abstract; Author; Keyword; All Text; Publication Type; Source; DOI; or Accession Number.
Notice in the image below the additional search tabs at the top including: Search Manager, Medical Terms (MeSH), and Browse.
Advanced Search Strategies: See the list of search tips in the "Search Manager" section on pages 4 through 6 of the HELP (pdf) guide. Also use the Search Manager tab to create complex, multi-line searches, and save them.