Open Educational Resources @ UW Tacoma: Adapt or Create OER
Get started adapting OER or creating from scratch.
Adapting OER
These resources outline processes and considerations for revising and remixing existing Open Educational Resources. For additional tools and resources, see the Copyright & Creative Commons and Toolkit tabs.
- Modifying an Open Textbook: What You Need to KnowThis is a five-step guide, published by the Open Textbook Network, for faculty, and those who support faculty, who want to modify an open textbook. Step-by-step instructions for importing and editing common open textbook file and platform types are included.
- 6 Steps to modifying an Open TextbookTips and things to consider before modifying an open textbook from BCcampus OpenEd. This resource includes a chart listing tools for editing various OER file formats and information on different hosting options.
- Accessibility Toolkit, 2nd EditionIf you choose to adapt a text, you'll need to make sure your changes meet accessibility standards. A collaboration between BCcampus, Camosun College, and CAPER-BC, this guide provides resources for creating open textbooks that are accessible for all students.
Creating OER
The links below include information on authoring your own Open Educational Resource, including working with students to create materials. For additional tools and resources (including information about publishing platforms), see the Copyright & Creative Commons and Toolkit tabs.
- Authoring Open TextbooksThis guide, published by the Open Textbook Network, is for faculty authors, librarians, project managers and others who are involved in the production of open textbooks in higher education and K-12. Content includes a checklist for getting started, publishing program case studies, textbook organization and elements, writing resources and an overview of useful tools.
- A Guide to Making Open Textbooks with StudentsThis first edition handbook, published the The Rebus Community for Open Textbook Creation, is intended for faculty interested in practicing open pedagogy by involving students in the making of open textbooks, ancillary materials, or other Open Educational Resources.
- The OER Starter KitThe final chapter of this starter kit gets users started creating their own Open Educational Resources, including recommending workflows, tools, and additional readings.
- Accessibility Toolkit, 2nd EditionA collaboration between BCcampus, Camosun College, and CAPER-BC, this guide provides resources for creating open textbooks that are accessible for all students.
Planning Your Project
This work was adapted by Abbey Elder (Iowa State University) from Production of OER by Billy Meinke and University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Outreach College, licensed under a CC BY 4.0. International license. Click the image to view the flow chart in Google Illustrations.
Tools and Resources for Adapting or Creating OER
- Creative Commons License ChooserThis tool will help you select and apply a Creative Commons license to your work.
- Open Attribution BuilderThis tool from Open Washington will help you build attributions.
- BCcampus Accessibility ChecklistAccessibility checklist for creating OER.
Publishing Platforms
There are a number of options available for publishing and hosting Open Educational Resources, including Google Drive, OER repositories, websites, and more. You can find information on two ebook publishing platforms available to UW faculty and staff below. For more information on these and other publishing options, contact an OER specialist.
- Pressbooks at UWPressbooks is an easy-to-use, multimedia e-book authoring platform that can be used to publish Open Textbooks and other OERS. Current UW Tacoma faculty and staff can request access to Pressbooks by contacting Marisa Petrich (marisp2@u.edu).
- Getting Started with ManifoldManifold is a digital book publishing platform that includes ability to incorporate media, visualizations, gaming, and more along with the text. This guide includes information on how UW-affiliated users can get started using Manifold.
Combining Creative Commons Licenses
Material from certain Creative Commons Licenses cannot be mixed together. Consult this chart for more information on which licenses may be used together, or click the image for text-based descriptions and explanations.
"Can I combine material under different Creative Commons licenses in my work?" by Creative Commons is licensed under CC BY 4.0.
Copyright & Creative Commons
Copyright & Creative Commons
Understanding the basics of copyright and open licenses is important when adopting, adapting, or creating Open Educational Resources. Get started by reviewing the materials below, or ask an OER specialist for more information.
- UW Libraries Copyright GuideThis introduction to copyright includes info on exclusive rights, copyright duration, and fair use.
- Intro to Creative Commons LicensesAn introduction to Creative Commons Licenses and content. Creative Commons Licenses are a commonly used type of open license.
- The OER Starter KitThis Open Educational Resource Starter Kit by Abbey Elder addresses copyright basics (including public domain and fair use), open licensing, and Creative Commons Licenses.