Skip to Main Content Skip to main content
University of Washington

Home

Social Work

Social Work-focused Databases

Additional Databases

Specialty Databases

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be easily configured to tell you which search results can be accessed through UW Libraries, and provide a direct link to the resource in the catalog for online access or to request it.

1. From the Google Scholar homepage, click the three strips/show menu icon on the left side of the page.

screenshot of google scholar home; a red box and a red arrow indicate the hamburger in the upper left

Tip: Click Sign In at the top right to save this to your UW or other Google account. When your account name is displayed, this library access link will be connected to it.

 

2. Then click Settings.

screenshot of settings button google scholar. a red box marks the "settings" option

 

3. Search for "University of Washington" to find the access link University of Washington - Full Text @ UW. Check the box next to this option, then click Save.

screenshot of google scholar settings for uw libraries. red boxes highlight 1) Library Links; 2) the search bar which as "University of Washington" entered; 3) a check box for "University of Washington-Full Text @UW" which is checked; 4) the save button at the lower right

Tip: If you don't see the University of Washington - Full-Text @ UW link on the first page of results, click the > icon to see more results.

 

What to Look For:

Search Result view in Google Scholar. This is how a resource that is accessible through UW will appear in your browser.

A yellow arrow points to Google Scholar's "Full-Text @ UW" on the right hand side of the page

 

Quick Learning Series: Connecting Google Scholar (2:05)

UW Libraries eJournals

Journal Search
Search or browse journal titles held at UW. Can't find it? Request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Online eJournals

Finding Fulltext

When searching databases to find articles, click on this button to get to the full text of the articles.

Video - Getting to Full Text

Journal Impact Factor

Journal Impact Factor is used to show the importance of a journal to its field. Journal Citation Reports is a tool for finding the impact of a journal or groups of journals. Select the JCR Social Sciences Edition to search for Social Work Journals and view their Impact Factor.

http://webofknowledge.com/JCR