Collaboration between RWJF and U of Wisconsin Population Health Institute

Access to U.S. Health & Human Services data. Includes topics of health care workers, health care services, social and family services, finance and expenditures, income and poverty.

State-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing and state legislation.

State, regional and national level discharge data, available for purchase. Includes State Inpatient Databases (SID), State Ambulatory Surgery Databases (SASD), State Emergency Department Databases (SEDD), Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS), and Kids' Inpatient Database (KID). Free tools include AHRQ Quality Indicators (QIs), Clinical Classifications Software (CCS), Comorbidity Software, and HCUPnet, a web interface to free HCUP data.

An interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data.

National Library of Medicine portal of health services research resources including links to data, funding announcements, reports, podcasts, & discussion groups.

Data resources used in health services research, the behavioral and social sciences and public health.

Uses Medicare and Medicaid data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.

Statistical tables on programs administered by the Social Security Administration— Social Security, and the Supplemental Security Income program. In addition, data is available on Medicare and Medicaid and social insurance programs, including workers' compensation, unemployment insurance, temporary disability insurance, Black Lung benefits, and veterans' benefits.

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

AHRF contains variables for each of the nation's counties and provides information on health facilities, health professions, measures of resource scarcity, health status, economic activity, health training programs, and socioeconomic and environmental characteristics.

A set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States providing data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.

HRSA survey of characteristics of the registered nurses in the workforce.