Method 1: Limit search results by using the CINAHL Subject Headings such as "reliability and validity", "instrument validation", and "qualitative validity".
Example: Beck Depression AND (MH "Reliability and Validity+")
Note: the + sign after a subject heading indicates that the search is exploded to include records indexed at all narrower subject headings.
Method 2: Limit search results by using the Publication Type (PT) field. Enter your term in the search box. Under Limit Your Results, scroll down to Publication Type and select Research Instrument Utilization or Research Instrument Validation.
Example: Beck Depression and Research Instrument Utilization or Research Instrument Validation in Publication Type
Note that you can select both by holding down the Ctrl key when you left-click each selection.
Click the Page Options link above the Results display. Under the Result Format, select Detailed. Or, click on the title of each citation to view the Detailed record.
To view the full text of an article, click on links to PDF or Full Text, or click on the Check forFull Text button at the bottom of the record.
Click the Help button within CINAHL Plus. Or try our help page Searching CINAHL Plus.
Limit search results by using the Descriptor (DE) field. Enter the instrument name in the search box. In the next search box, enter ERIC Thesaurus terms such as "Test Reviews" or "Test Reliability" or "Test Validity" or "Construct Validity", etc. Select the DE Descriptor field to be searched for each term.
Example: Beck Depression Inventory AND Test Validity in DE Descriptors
Click the Page Options link above the Results display. Under the Result Format, select Detailed to see more information on all of the results. Or, click on the title of indivicual citations to view the complete record.
The ERIC database does link to many full-text documents. In addition, many of the ERIC non-journal documents in the ED (Eric Document) series from the AN (Accession Number) field can be found in the UW Libraries Microform and Newspapers Collection under the series number. Beginning October 1, 2004, ED documents issued 1993-2004 are available for free at www.eric.ed.gov, and the ERIC Digitization Project is in the process of converting selected documents from 1966-1992. For studies that appear in journals identified by EJ (ERIC Journal) in the AN field, click on the Check for Full Text icon at the bottom of the record.
For help with EBSCO searching, click Help at the top of the ERIC page. Click the question mark icon located to the upper right of the search box for the popup help screen. Under Database Help at the bottom of the left menu, click on ERIC for additional information about searching ERIC.
Limit search results by using the Source Code (TC) field. Enter the name of the instrument or acronym in the search box. Under Limit your search, scroll down to Source code and select Review Source to find articles that use an instrument or to find information from a review source such as Mental Measurements Yearbook and locate journal articles that review instruments. Note that these records do not indicate whether reliability and validity information is included in the cited source. Click Search.
Example: Beck Depression Inventory and Review Source in Source Code
Click the Page Options link above the Results display. Under Result Format, select Detailed. Or, click on the title of each citation to view the Detailed record.
Click Help within HAPI. Or see our help page for more detailed information HAPI: Searching the Health and Psychosocial Instruments Database.
Browse for reviews by several indexes:
Each edition is unique, newer editions do not replace older ones so be sure to search the correct volume (published after the instrument was developed).
Limit search results to Research Instruments. Enter the name of the instrument in the search box. Click Search. Click the Research Instruments tab above the search results.
Example: Beck Depression Inventory under Research Instruments
Check the Psychometrics section for validity and reliability information. Other sections include: year developed, purpose, variables of interest, original population, question format, administration, scoring, and how to obtain.
Click the Help link located at the upper right of the screen for additional information about searching Nursing Reference Center.
Method 1: Search by instrument name using the Tests & Measures (TM) field to find studies that use a particular instrument since 2001. Enter your term in the Search box and select TM Tests & Measures as the field to be searched.
Example: Beck Depression Inventory in TM Tests & Measures
Method 2: Search using keywords in the Keywords (KW) or the Abstract (AB) field. Enter the most your term in the Search box and select KW Keyword or AB Abstract as the field to be searched.
Example: Beck Depression Inventory in KW Keywords
Method 3: Limit search results by using the Subjects [exact] (DE) field. Enter your term in the Search box. In the next Search box, enter "test validity" or "test reliability" and select DE Subjects [exact] as the field to be searched. Click Search to retrieve citations on the validity or reliability of a test.
Example: Beck Depression Inventory and test reliability OR test validity in DE Subjects [exact]
HINT: Some popular testing instruments, such as the Beck Depression Inventory, are included as PsycINFO subject headings that can be searched.
Example: Beck Depression Inventory in DE Subjects [extra] and test reliability OR test validity in DE Subjects [exact]
Hint: You can add other terms if applicable, such as "interrater reliability" or "test standardization". In addition, if you need to narrow down your results, you can limit the test name to the Title field.
Click on the title of each citation to view the complete record.
Click on the ? next to the Search button and then scroll down to Database Help: PsycInfo.
Search for the instrument name or acronym in the Title or Test Acronym field to find the Master Record for the named test. Each Master Record may contain Test Child Records which may provide information on Test Development, Test Reviews, or Test Use. The Test Reviews section will provide citations to relevant articles.
Example: Beck Depression Inventory in TI Title field; then view the full record to view the Test Child Records
If no Test Reviews information is included in the full (master) record, search other databases such as Web of Science or Scopus to find the article that is cited for Test Development. in Web of Science or Scopus, click on the Times Cited or Cited by links to view articles that reference the test development article and which may provide test review details.
Click on the title of each citation to view the complete record.
Click on the ? next to the Search button and then scroll down to Database Help: PsycTESTS.
Method 1:Limit search results by using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) that are helpful in identifying articles that evaluate instruments. Combine your variable of interest with the MeSH terms.
Sample MeSH terms include but are not limited to:
Example: "beck depression inventory" AND Validation Studies as Topic[mh]
HINT: Use quotation marks to specify a phrase search.
Method 2: Limit search resultts by using the Publication Type (PT) field. Enter the name or acronym of the instrument in the search box and add the term "Validation Studies[pt]". Click Go to find articles that consist of research using processes by which the reliability and relevance of a procedure for a specific purpose are established. Validation Studies[pt] has been in use since 2001.
Example: "beck depression inventory" AND validation studies[pt]
Method 3: Search by keywords. Enter the instrument name or acronym in the search box and add keywords such as "validity" or "reliability".
Example: "beck depression inventory" AND (validity OR reliability)
Help
Click Help at the top of the PubMed screen. Or try our help page: PubMed at the UW.
Limit search results by using the Subject heading field. Enter the instrument name in the search box. In the following search box enter subject headings such as "reliability", or "validity". Select the Subject heading (all) - SU field to be searched.
Example: Beck Depression Inventory and (validity or reliability) in Subject heading (all) -- SU
The default display is the citation format. Click on the title of each citation to view the full record.
Help
Click Help in the top right corner of the screen within Sociological Abstracts.
Method 1: Browse Table of Contents by test or reviewer name.
Method 2: Browse the cumulative index in the most recent volume to find entries in all volumes.
Method 1: Search by keyword in all or specified fields.
Method 2: Browse by alphabetical or category listings of tests.
Method 1: Locate the cited volume of Mental Mental Measurements Yearbook.
Method 2: Purchase the test review online from the Buros Institute using the link in the Test Reviews Online record, if available. Approximately 2,500 reviews are available for purchase for $15 each.
Browse indexes by:
Method 1: Use Cited Reference Search to find articles that cite the original article describing the development of the instrument. Click Cited Reference Search above the search boxes. Enter terms for cited author, work, year, volume, issue, or pages. Click Search. Select the correct record from the list of results. Click Finish Search.
Example: Beck in Cited Author
AND
behav res ther in Cited Work
AND
1997 in Cited Year.
Method 2: Limit search results by using the Title field. Enter the instrument name or acronym in the search box. Enter keywords such as "reliability" or "validity" in the second search box. Select Title as the field to be searched for each search box. Click Search.
Example: Beck Depression Inventory in Title
AND
reliability OR validity in Title
Click on the title of a citation to view the full record.
Click on the Help link at the top of the page.
1959 NE Pacific Street | T334 Health Sciences Building | Box 357155 | Seattle, WA 98195-7155 | 206-543-3390
© 2024 University of Washington | Seattle, WA
Text on this page created by UW Libraries is licensed under a CC BY-NC 4.0 license.
Images and video are not included.