Skip to main content
University of Washington Health Sciences Library

Scopus

A database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Manage your Results

See this page for information on how to:

Retrieve Full Text Articles

Print or Email your Results

Download Multiple PDF Documents

Export Your Results to EndNote, EndNoteWeb, or RefWorks

Full Text Articles

In the Results list (and within individual records), click on the Check for Full Text UW icon (check for full text icon) to check for full text article availability.

check for full text screenshot

Print or Email

To Print or Email a single or multiple citations:

  • Choose an article from the Results list by clicking on the article title, or choose multiple citations by checking the boxes next to the desired citations.
  • To print OR email the article's citation and abstract, click in the box next to the desired action.
  • Select the options you'd like (options vary depending on which action was selected) and click the Print or Send button.

Download Multiple PDF Documents

You can download multiple documents in Scopus at one time. The Document Download Manager (DDM) feature in Scopus allows you to select and automatically download, re-name and save up to 50 documents at one time.

An instructional video explaining the process can be found here.

Export your Results to EndNote, EndNote Web or RefWorks

EndNote logo

Use Direct Export to transfer records from Scopus to your EndNote library.

  1. Run a search on Scopus and mark the records that you would like to export by clicking on the box to the left of each record.
  2. Select Export.
  3. Using the drop-down menu, change Export Format to RIS format (Reference Manager, ProCite and EndNote).
  4. For Output, selecting Complete format will export as much information as possible, so that is a good one to choose if you're not sure.
  5. Select Export.
  6. A dialog box opens and asks if you would like to save or open the file. Select Open.
  7. You will be asked to select the EndNote library into which you wish to transfer the records.
  8. Once your library opens, the records will be automatically transferred.

EndNote Web logo

Use an Import Filter to transfer records from Scopus to your EndNote library.

  1. Run a search on Scopus and mark the records that you would like to export by clicking on the box to the left of each record.
  2. Select Export.
  3. Using the drop-down menu, change Export Format to RIS format (Reference Manager, ProCite and EndNote).
  4. For Output, selecting Complete format will export as much information as possible, so that is a good one to choose if you're not sure.
  5. Select Export.
  6. A dialog box opens and asks if you would like to save or open the file, select Save.
  7. Retain the default file format Endnote Import File and save it to the area of your choice, making a note of the area and the file name.
  8. Open your EndNote Web Library, click on the Collect tab and click on Import References.
  9. Click on Browse... to locate the file you have just saved.
  10. Select Scopus from the list of Import Options and then the group from the TO: drop down menu before selecting the Import button.

RefWorks logo

Direct Export:

  1. Run a search on Scopus and mark the records that you would like to export by clicking on the box to the left of each record.
  2. Select Export
  3. Using the drop-down menu, change Export Format to RefWorks direct export.
  4. For Output, selecting Complete format will export as much information as possible, so that is a good one to choose if you're not sure.
  5. Select Export.
  6. The Imported Citations appear. To view them, select View Last Imported Folder.

If Direct Export is not working, then try this approach:

  1. Select the Scopus records of interest and click on "Export"
  2. On the screen that appears, retain the default "Export" choice.
  3. Choose the BibTex "Export Format"
  4. Make your "Output" choice
  5. Click the "Export" button.
  6. Choose Save in the "File Download" dialog box.
  7. Choose a download location and name you can remember. Do not change the .bib
  8. Log into RefWorks and use the "References" menu to select "Import.
  9. When the "Import References" screen appears, select "BibTex" "Import Filter/Data Source" and "Multiple Databases" "Database."
  10. Click "Browse."
  11. Select the scopus .bib file that you saved earlier.
  12. Click the "Import" button.
Health Sciences Library | 1959 NE Pacific Street, T334 Health Sciences Building, Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155 USA, 206-543-3390 | Privacy | Terms