Skip to main content
University of Washington Health Sciences Library

Scopus: Scopus vs Web of Science

A database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Scopus and Web of Science Comparison Chart

Features Scopus Web of Science
Scopus vs. Web of Science
Number of journals >20,000 >13,000
Content Biomedical sciences, natural sciences, engineering, social sciences, arts & humanities.  Strongest coverage of biomedical & natural sciences and engineering. Natural sciences, biomedical sciences, engineering, social sciences, arts & humanities.  Strongest coverage of natural sciences & engineering.
Databases covered 100% of Medline and Embase - plus other content.  [Not 100% of PubMed.] Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Time period covered Initially covered 1996-present.  Now includes substantial content prior to 1996, with some back to 1823.

Science component: 1990-

Social science component: 1975-

Arts & humanities component: 1975-

Updating frequency Daily Weekly
Publisher Elsevier Thomson Reuters
Citation analysis Yes, including citation tracking, citation counts, and author h-index calculations Yes, including citation tracking, citation counts, and author h-index calculations
Controlled vocabulary No Scopus-specific controlled vocabulary.  Keyword field includes indexing terms for references taken from other databases, such as PubMed and Embase No.
Export feature for references Yes Yes
Alerts feature Yes Yes
Relative strengths
  • More versatile search and refine options, including ability to search for "first author"
  • Tools for analyzing search results by author, affiliation, country, journal title, and broad subject categories.
  • Scopus Author Identifiers are broadly assigned; useful for distinguishing among publications from authors with similar names
  • Growing book chapter coverage, especially for social sciences and arts & humanities
  • Can search using controlled vocabulary terms
  • More thorough coverage of older literature
  • Ability to analyze search results by author, affiliation, country, journal/book title, and broad subject categories.
  • Can sort search results according to how frequently the articles have been cited.

 

 

Last updated February 2016

For More Information

Recent Comparisons of Scopus and Web of Science:

Mongeon P, Paul-Hus A.  The journal coverage of Web of Science and Scopus: a comparative analysis.  Scientometrics.  2016; 106(1):213-228.

HLWIKI Canada. Scopus vs Web of Science. Updated 2015.

Health Sciences Library | 1959 NE Pacific Street, T334 Health Sciences Building, Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155 USA, 206-543-3390 | Privacy | Terms