Skip to main content
University of Washington Health Sciences Library

KL2 Scholars Library Guide

My Bibliography - Managing References You've Authored

The new NIH biosketch requirement allows applicants to include a link to a full list of their published work as found in a "publicly available digital database" such as My Bibliography.

Here are the steps to set up My Bibliography:

  1. Log in to My NCBI using the NIH Login; enter your eRA Commons ID and password.
  2. Search for all of your publications in PubMed.  Use the “send to” menu on the search results page to send the references to My Bibliography.
  3. Click on “My NCBI” in the upper right corner.  Look for the My Bibliography box.
  4. Click on “Manage My Bibliography.”  It should be populated with all of your references.
  5. If you have authored additional publications that aren’t included in PubMed, you can manually add them to My Bibliography by clicking on “Add Citation” OR you can upload a file of references in RIS format using these directions.
  6. At the top of the page is a link to make your bibliography “public.”  When you click on this, it will show you the “public URL” that you can paste into your biosketch.
  7. Keep your My Bibliography account up-to-date by periodically adding citations for your newly-published articles.

                                    

SciENcv - Tool for Generating NIH Biosketches

SciENcv is a new (optional) tool designed to facilitate the creation of biosketches for NIH grant applications and annual progress reports.

SciENcv links your biographical information from eRA Commons (education, work experience, award history) with your PubMed publications that have been saved in your My Bibliography account.

                                       

First, set up your My Bibliography as outlined in the box above.  Then follow these steps:

  1. Log into My NCBI.
  2. Ensure that your NCBI account is linked to your eRA Commons account.  Click on your user name in the upper right hand corner, go to the Linked Accounts box, and verify (or add) "NIH and eRA Commons."
  3. In My NCBI, find the SciENcv box.  Click on "Click here to create a new CV."
  4. Create a new profile From an External Source.
  5. Choose New NIH Biosketch format for your "type of profile."
  6. Choose eRA Commons for your "external source."

Now your My Bibliography references are linked to your eRA Commons account, and all of the information is available to generate biosketches.

For future biosketches, you can create a new profile From an Existing Profile to reuse pieces.

Click HERE for directions on using SciENcv to generate a biosketch to meet NIH and NSF requirements.

SciENcv - Notes and Useful Features

Useful Features and Notes on Using SciENcv

  • You control the content of your SciENcv profile and can edit it as needed.  This includes the ability to hide selective citations or add non-NIH research awards.
  • You choose whether or not to make your SciENcv profile visible to the public.  It is private by default.
  • You can create multiple profiles within SciENcv so that each biosketch is tailored to suit a particular grant application. 
  • You can export your SciENcv profile as a PDF file and use it when submitting a grant application through the grants.gov website. 
  • Once you create a SciENcv profile, it's static, but you can reuse it or parts of it.
  • When you add references to My Bibliography, those references will also be available in SciENcv.  Click on "show/hide entries" to see them.

NIH Public Access Policy - providing access to NIH-funded research articles

The 4 basic steps of complying with the NIH Public Access Policy are summarized in this 1-page PDF checklist.    

For more information, use the NIH Public Access Policy Help Guide written by HSL librarians specifically for UW authors. 

Also visit the ITHS page on citing ITHS grants, including KL2 awards.


Tips for incorporating the NIH Public Access Policy into your publication planning:

  1. If you are the corresponding author, communicate the fact that you’re NIH-funded to the publisher at the time your manuscript is accepted.  Figure out who is responsible for what tasks.  (Look HERE to find your journal and their policies.)
  2. If you are not the corresponding author, make sure you let the corresponding author know that your work is NIH funded.
  3. Hold on to a copy of the accepted manuscript.  This -- not the final published version -- is the version of the article that you'll likely need to submit if you're responsible for depositing it in the NIH Manuscript Submission System.

My Bibliography - Managing Compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy

NIH-funded researchers are also required to use My Bibliography to manage compliance with the NIH public access policy. 

In order to verify compliance, log into your My NCBI account and follow these steps:

  1. Click on My Bibliography and then Manage My Bibliography.
  2. Change the "Display Settings" to "Award View."
  3. You'll see a green check (article is in PubMed Central), a yellow dot (article is in process), a red dot (article is non-compliant), "N/A" (if the policy doesn't apply), or a "?" (additional information is needed, e.g., a link to a grant if appropriate).
Health Sciences Library | 1959 NE Pacific Street, T334 Health Sciences Building, Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155 USA, 206-543-3390 | Privacy | Terms